December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

A Game of Pirates

by homelinen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The object of the game is to "destroy" the little houses and avoid being hit by the militias canon and avoiding the coast.

Game is rather quite unfinished, things that you destroy just stop moving, rather than going anywhere and the AI is the simplest it could possibly be.

Also, you can move out of the screen.

Controls
=======
Movement: Arrow Keys
Fire Cannon: Space

Post-Contest Updates
===================
* Added an end of game screen as the game looked like it crashed.

Source Installs
===============
The 5 people I tested my game with all had problems installing the gosu gem, so please note that there are weird install issues with this.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#726Theme2.00
#729Graphics1.75
#756Fun1.67
#758Innovation1.58
#767Overall1.75
#1048Coolness22%

Comments

boxerbomb says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:13am

where is the game?

Digitalduck says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:26am

Cant rate this game, since there is no game?

homelinen says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:34pm

Added actual game binaries for Windows now.

Source install instructions are on Github.

h.attila says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:40am

Obviously an unfinished game. What really piqued my interest is that you used Ruby, which is one of my favorite programming languages but I never really considered it suitable for game development. You might've changed my mind about that.

gameXcore says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:37pm

It really sucks when games don't let you play again after "finishing" and just close, this is because I don't save the game, it just downloads to some temp directory somewhere and I have to re-download to play again!

Freakill says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:13am

Good starting point. The idea is not bad, but the randomization of scenario sometimes prevented me of being able to navigate on all the water. Also it is hard to know when are you pillagin or not towns (i guessed it is when you hit them with a cannon ball). Despite of that, I like too much Pirate games for not liking this hehehehe. Liked the graphic style :D

Encircle says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:15pm

Pretty unfinished, but I liked graphics.

Cyboot says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:34pm

I agree with previous comments, it could be a good starting point for a bigger game. But as it is is really unfinished.

Maybe you continue working on it (i think it would be fun to play), or next Ludumdare :)

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 2:33am

Pretty incomplete but I could see where it was going. I think it should only be possible to turn the ship when you are moving it forward, otherwise you can just stay in one place and shoot everything (that or limit the length the cannonballs fly).

homelinen says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 9:39pm

@HeyChinaski That was exactly what I wanted to do, and it wouldn't have been hard to implement. But the other horribly broken things got in the way. If I ever finish it I WILL be adding that.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]