December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Guardian Angel Devil

by Serilyn - Jam Entry

You are an imp trying to gain more cred with the demons by finding an evil orb that will make you powerful. The only problem is that the only one who can retrieve the orb is the "Chosen One". You find him outside the dungeon and pretend to help him get the orb.

This entry uses XNA but I used JSIL to convert it to javascript. It works in firefox or chrome. IE wouldn't load it at all and safari and opera had issues. There have been reports of Firefox being choppy with particles on the screen so if in doubt, use chrome.

This is a jam entry only because I ran out of time for the compo. All code and content was made by me during the 72 jam hours.

Tips:
You will need to fight Blake at the end to take the orb from him so don't let him get too powerful.
Also keep some extra equipment cards around for new allies at the end.
You can get rid of equipment cards you don't want, (Like extra copper short swords) by giving them to Blake. He will only equip items that are better than what he has.
Conversely, if Blake has a steel shield he may have a hard time hitting anything because he won't replace it with any swords in the game (bug). So try to keep him with two swords rather than giving him any shields.
The imp can't attack but he can block so he can get in the way of any nasties trying to get at Blake.

Used:
Visual Studio - IDE
C# - code
XNA - code
JSIL - conversion to javascript
Photoshop - graphics
BFXR - sound effects
Audacity - sound effects
Autotracker - music
Tiled - tile maps

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#155Innovation(Jam)2.92
#176Overall(Jam)2.96
#180Audio(Jam)2.67
#182Humor(Jam)2.47
#209Graphics(Jam)2.92
#211Theme(Jam)3.04
#223Fun(Jam)2.54
#224Mood(Jam)2.60
#817Coolness42%

Comments

Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:05pm

Nice one. Music reminds me of ShadowRun on the snes.

ilo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:44pm

This is a really good effort, Serilyn, and the way the player indirectly affects what is happening is a great concept.

My only criticism is that the cards/spells seems too random, which may penalise or help the player too much (in my second playthrough, I had six full heal spells in my deck).

Per says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:46pm

Interesting gameplay you got there.
The graphics fit very well together as well.
Very cool that you use JSIL, I didn't even know such a thing existed!

lotusgame says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:33am

Inovating game.
I need to checkout HTML5 and JSIL now :)

Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:11pm

Nice game. The gameplay and the story are well done.

Eniko says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:20am

That was quite enjoyable, and an interesting mechanic to be the support for the hero. Well, until the end, when you kill him. I felt a little bad about that. :D

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:02am

The pixel art and dungeon setting attracted me. If you continue to develop this, would it be more engaging to speed up the pace of the initial combats?

Jezzamon says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Nice twist! I kinda saw it coming, given the theme, and the fact that armour bonuses and etc were permanent. Some of the powers were a little overpowered (ie healing and damaging). Also, the gameplay was fairly slow. Graphics were good, and the generated music came out pretty well. I really liked this game, and the idea. :D

Also the HTML 5 version worked fine.

...oh, I see the stuff about the shield... that explains why all the attacks seemed really weak.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]