December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

uSlender

by bechsen - Jam Entry

You are the infamous Slender man, and you catch kids (see the slender myth)
see how many kids you can catch before sun rises (60 sec.)
comment Highscores.

instructions;
w,a,s,d movement
left click to teleport
right click a kid to grab him with your tentacle(s) ;)

this is my first entry :)
made with GML

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#150Theme(Jam)3.36
#164Humor(Jam)2.58
#212Fun(Jam)2.60
#220Mood(Jam)2.62
#228Overall(Jam)2.76
#230Audio(Jam)2.17
#230Graphics(Jam)2.74
#232Innovation(Jam)2.56
#742Coolness46%

Comments

monomanio says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:33am

Hah, now thats a cool take on the theme :) Great job.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:28pm

Lol

pythong says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:31pm

installer? you shouldn't force people to actually install your game :/ (i'm saying that because it's your first LD). because ppl don't want to install anything, especially when they will be judging a heck lot of games. if you can, provide a direct executable (not an installer) as soon as possible

Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:02pm

Overall quite a good first entry, however it would much better to have the same sound effects that you have in the slender game!

odrega says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:21am

Good Game! The installer is annoying though, and the music was a bit painful to the ears. And once you figure out how to quickly herd children into corners, you get heaps of kids.

Xavier says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 6:22am

Avoid installers (there's an option in GM to do that) in the future. Love darkness and pixel graphics but the music, as @odrega said, is a bit annoying.

bechsen says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 12:13am

Im sorry i use GM studio, and i dont think that it includes a option just for a .exe file :(

and as for the music, i thought that i was not allowed to use the original soundtrack... And i was running out of time

otherwise im verry glad that you liked it!! :D

bechsen says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 12:20am

nvm.. fixed it, it is now a .exe :)

Van Merwan says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 7:56pm

Killing kids is bad so I made circles like I was ice-skating. :)

Zelen3d says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 8:43pm

Once you figure out you can teleport, it's fun. Nice music.

Neonlare says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 9:42pm

Was a bit short, didn't have much in the way of progression but a neat little submission :D.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:31pm

A great concept, though there's a few problems. The music was good quality, but I felt it ruined the mood; something scarier or more disturbing would have been better. The teleporting was rather glitchy too, refusing to work at times.

dj_pale says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 12:19am

Take on theme on reference was good, a bit incomplete.

Dec 28, 2012 @ 2:32am

I played a few times, my best score was 16. The music was a bit annoying, but overall a solid entry!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 12:43pm

The music is more appropriate for an YTMND page, not for a scary setting (at all) For this simple type of game, I was expecting more for a Jam entry.

ArkadyDracul says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 12:52pm

Good entry, it perfectly fit!

aare says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 3:08pm

The music is nice, but imho doesn't really fit this game.

jfroco says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Interesting idea and has a lot of potential. Music doesn't seem to fit the game. Congrats for making a game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]