December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Spread

by mailman105 - Jam Entry

Unleash your inner-villain and burn down the wilderness.
Watch as the goats futily try to stop you
If you listen closely you can almost hear them say "curse your sudden but inevitable betrayal!"

Win by making the whole ground grey

WASD to move
SPACE to use the flamethrower

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#198Theme(Jam)3.08
#284Graphics(Jam)2.33
#315Fun(Jam)1.83
#323Overall(Jam)2.00
#1048Coolness22%

Comments

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:56am

It was fun burning down the trees!

Per says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:04am

Spread the fire! Burn it all down!
Cool if you develop it further :)

Kuulog says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:09pm

This game doesn't seem to work for me. The window just closes itself :(

Cyboot says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:10pm

nice game. simple but fun to play

One small developer note (I wrote my game in Java too, even not with LWJGL): I alway prefer if the game is a single file. And its really easy to put the resources into the jar and let your game read them there. (Try something like Game.class.getResource("path/to/file.png"))

Starspell says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:15pm

I'm getting a Pixel not Accelerated error. Probably my computer. I'll try this on another computer later on. Looking forward to trying this one!

mailman105 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:00pm

Cyboot: Ok, it's one file now. Thanks for the tip :)

Kuulog: can you run the game from a terminal/ command prompt and tell me the error? What OS and java version are you running?

Cyboot says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:47pm

Hi again. I wanted to try your game again to find the firefly-reference you mentioned but I get an error with this new version.

this is the stacetrace: (Win7 32bit this time)
org.lwjgl.LWJGLException: Pixel format not accelerated
at org.lwjgl.opengl.WindowsPeerInfo.nChoosePixelFormat(Native Method)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.WindowsPeerInfo.choosePixelFormat(WindowsPeerInfo.java:52)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.WindowsDisplay.createWindow(WindowsDisplay.java:229)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.createWindow(Display.java:303)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.create(Display.java:845)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.create(Display.java:754)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.create(Display.java:736)
at OpenGL.OpenGLinit(OpenGL.java:14)
at States.Run(States.java:30)
at SpreadMain.<init>(SpreadMain.java:9)
at SpreadMain.main(SpreadMain.java:15)
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.RuntimeException: No OpenGL context found in the current thread.
at org.lwjgl.opengl.GLContext.getCapabilities(GLContext.java:124)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.GL11.glMatrixMode(GL11.java:2051)
at OpenGL.OpenGLinit(OpenGL.java:19)
at States.Run(States.java:30)
at SpreadMain.<init>(SpreadMain.java:9)
at SpreadMain.main(SpreadMain.java:15)

mikemacdee says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:25pm

the flames always appeared above my head instead of at the proper place.

mailman105 says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:53am

mikemacdee: Sorry, that's a bug I'm working on

Cyboot: I believe my lwjgl things have some sort of issue with 32 bit. I'll see what I can do. Also, I think I phrased my comment poorly about firefly, just read the description of the game more closely.

jackspinoza says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 10:02pm

the game has been closing whenever I touch the top edge of the screen while flaming making it pretty hard to win. Good work though.

cardboard says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Neat game, but the game never gave me more than about 5 trees to burn down, so I could beat rather quickly. This seems like it would be a lot of fun if you keep working on it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]