December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Attack of the Crimson Plumber

by Dylan McCall - Jam Entry

It's just another day minding your own business in your evil dungeon when a goodie-two-shoes plumber barges in and starts demanding some princess, and all your coins. Set off the traps to stop him and his two equally annoying twins before they blow up the bridge you happen to be standing on!

Created with Dart and HTML5 Canvas over three days.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#179Theme(Jam)3.22
#196Innovation(Jam)2.70
#246Fun(Jam)2.41
#250Humor(Jam)2.00
#266Mood(Jam)2.35
#272Audio(Jam)1.15
#274Graphics(Jam)2.41
#278Overall(Jam)2.48

Comments

loren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:11am

Cool idea, I like the gradual fades of the characters as they moved. Really feels like an LCD game. Nice job :)

nickworks says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:25am

Nice aesthetics. Gameplay was challenging.

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:48pm

I suck so hard lol. Neat concept overall :)

sanojian says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:56pm

Nice idea but my plumber is suicidal. I don't have to do anything to win. Latest Firefox on WinXP

Aslai says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:18am

If you time it just right, you can fire the lower projectile, kill the plumber, and then the gun kills the next plumber as he spawns. Just a silly little time saver :)

bugninja says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:23am

The concept is very very interesting. I would love to see a polished game with a lot of levels with this concept of setting the traps. Like dropping the spikes, or swinging a pendulum, or whatever. So many ways to go from here. Very smart game.

zatyka says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:26am

Nice idea. The AI needs improvement, he died 3 times without me having to do anything. Cool idea, and cute little art style.

Dylan McCall says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:31am

Thanks for the comments :) Yeah, I was really hoping for something more puzzle-like, but I ended up starved for time so I had to settle on whatever arrangement was actually solvable. I'm excited some of that earlier idea shows through! (Also due to time constraints, I spent the last hour making the graphics reminiscent of an era where collision detection was frustratingly inaccurate and people put up with it. Funny what a little time pressure can do). Dropping spikes would be awesome! Nice idea.

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:38am

Very nice. Difficult and compelling. Quite innovative.

Komradus says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:26pm

Cool concept, the AI could use some work (he kills himself after activating the 2 leftmost traps) but otherwise the game provides an interesting challenge.

RosyPenguin says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:15am

I like the idea! And the effects are nice, kind of reminds me of Game and Watch.

Per says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:02am

Good idea for a game with this theme.
The graphics was simple but very nice.

gnx says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:51am

Worked well enough. Visuals are crisp and easy to understand.
Level design could do with some improvements, some of the traps are positioned so that the invaders are hardly affected by them.

Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:16am

Good idea, but the game is pretty easy. If you drop the two platforms he can't make it across.

Nick Cash says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:07am

Nice simple mechanics, and yet surprisingly challenging. Well done!

BrothersT says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:35pm

Nice idea.

Dylan McCall says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:22pm

I guess I should explain why some people find it challenging and some don't, so you don't feel like you're missing something.

I made two somewhat silly errors with this one: I didn't think about timing code until really late, so I ended up with a lot of stuff built around the environment I was working on. I sorted out most of that near the end (at least so it would work the same on Firefox and Chrome on my own computers), but I also had some needlessly complicated math involving floating point numbers, and depending on the frame rate that math can become very imprecise. Therefore, jumping behaves subtly differently on different computers.

(And for the hundredth time I was reminded: never use floating point numbers unless they're completely mandatory, which they just about never are).

Thanks again for the nice comments :)

atrodo says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 3:31pm

A really fun game, once I realized it wasn't working in Firefox and I loaded it into Chrome.

haxpor says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 8:15am

I like this.
This must be managed efficiently in some ways to kill all those invaders. For myself, I don't use the last trap, the last invader fell into the 1st platform and can't jump up, ha ha. Nice job!

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 8:41pm

Neat game. I won in about 3 tries though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]