December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

You Are The Virus

by Jogy34 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a game where you are a virus. Your job is to kill all plant/animal cells in your host. As you progress the cells in your host become more resistant and more and more antibodies and white blood cells appear to try to kill you. There are 10 fast-paced levels with the tenth level containing the goat cell boss.

Controls:
Left to pivot to the left
Right to pivot to the right
Forward to make your virus go the direction it is facing
Back to make your virus go the opposite way that it is facing.
Spacebar to attack
Esc to pause the game

Your Enemies:
White Blood Cells: White Blood Cells are fast and do quite a bit of damage but they will only charge at you when you are attacking an animal or plant cell. Hurts you if one touches you.
Anti-Bodies: Anti-Bodies are slightly slower and weaker than White Blood Cells but they will constantly follow you. Hurts you if one touches you.
Plant Cells: Plant Cells are stationary green rectangles that you must destroy to advance.
Animal Cells: Animal Cells are red circular moving cells that you must destroy to advance.

Attacking:
You attack by pressing the Spacebar. You can not move when you are attacking but you are able to pivot. If you are over a plant or animal cell you will start to do damage to it.

Note:
Sorry about not having any sound. I tried to implement some but I couldn't get it to work.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#375Innovation2.83
#467Theme2.97
#614Humor1.83
#661Mood2.14
#663Fun2.10
#688Overall2.31
#719Graphics1.79

Comments

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:58am

Well, I'm sorry, but I just didn't have much fun with this. The antibodies move way too fast, faster than the white blood cells, and I couldn't make it past level 2. It would also be nice if you were able to restart from the stage you failed if you die, as restarting the whole game everytime is kind of unforgiving. It was, however, very frantic, and I liked the feel it gave me, despite being mercilessly hard. So if that's the kind of game you like, then power to you! Unfortunately though, its just not my cup of tea...

solidplasma says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:59am

I had trouble controlling it, and I didn't seem to be able to damage the cells, but I love the concept. I made a microorganism based RTS once.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:21pm

Didn't seem to want to run for me.

Mava says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:38pm

Moving around is quite nice at top speed, looks like how a real virus might move. Well done :)

iiAtlas says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:34am

Too hard! Maybe it says more about me then the game :P

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:16am

Very difficult, I couldn't make it past the second stage. The virus movement is very nice and very believable, but the game itself is hard to play. The lack of audio is a shame because it would have really helped the mood.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:05am

I actually had a bit of fun whizzing about frantically as a virus :)

Bloodyaugust says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:10pm

I did manage to make it past the second level, it just took a lot of time repeatedly going back and forht for over 7 minutes haha. But superb game very nice build.

mokujin says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:41pm

this game is too fast and hard for me.. actually pretty good idea)

donmilham says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:25am

Great game idea. I felt especially sinister impregnating cells with my viral DNA. All while avoiding the body's defense mechanisms. It seems like the cells had a bit too much health. Also, I would have liked to see some immediate reward as I finish off cells.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 6:54am

While I liked the concept, the game was simply way too hard for me to play.

Amos Wenger says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 11:16am

Fast-paced, enjoyable, well done! Could use more feedback/effects so that the game seems more responsive though!

Also, no sound?

Anyway, nice one, looking forward to the next!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]