December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Earthmageddon

by calzoneman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

GitHub repository available at https://github.com/calzoneman/ludumdare25

The Windows release was built with a pygame2exe script from http://www.pygame.org/wiki/Pygame2exe

All other releases are Python source files.

Earthmageddon was created and tested with Python 2.7. See
http://www.python.org for information on downloading and installing Python.
Most *nix distributions have python in their package repositories.

Earthmageddon was built with the Pygame library. For information on
installing this library, see http://www.pygame.org/news.html

To run Earthmageddon, either run the executable ./destroy.py (assuming
/usr/bin/env python evaluates to your Python 2 executable), or run
python destroy.py.

The object of the game is to destroy the world. Shooting at the world will
destroy chunks of it. When all chunks are destroyed, the game is over and
you win. Every several seconds, the world will regenerate a layer past your
deepest hit. Enemies will spawn (red triangles) and shoot at you. Avoid
their bullets, or else you'll lose health and die. Colliding with an enemy
will kill the enemy and inflict 5 damage on yourself. You have 2 lives,
each with 20 health (bullets do 1 damage each). Enemies have 5 health. If
you die, you will respawn after 3 seconds.

To move, use WASD. Click the left mouse button to fire. Click and hold
to fire repeatedly. The direction of the emitted bullets is decided by
the position of the mouse cursor relative to your character (the UFO).

Please report bugs to admin@calzoneman.net

This code is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial
3.0 License. See LICENSE for full license details.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#48Fun3.65
#170Theme3.65
#172Innovation3.29
#200Overall3.29
#456Mood2.63
#507Audio1.94
#525Graphics2.53
#651Humor1.69
#948Coolness32%

Comments

enfyrneaux says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:33am

Very clever design. I liked the tunneling aspect!

awppy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:46pm

Wow, this game is actually very fun! And kudos to enfyrneaux for the tunnelling comment. It comes in handy.

Enemies have the perfect level of persistence. The longer I try to ignore them in favour of finishing off the last little island on earth, the more of a problem they become.

The only complaint I have from a gameplay perspective is enemy spawn location; it appears to be completely random, so if you're unlucky an enemy will spawn on/right next to you for some quick damage.

It's very fun though - I found myself playing through it multiple times

Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:09am

You can continue to shoot even after dead. The concept is neat, though I agree it doesn't feel good to have an enemy spawn on top of you while you are kiting everyone else.

calzoneman says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:59pm

@Monxcleyr Productions good catch, I never thought to try shooting while dead.

@awppy Yeah, it probably would have been a good idea to implement some sort of minimum safe radius around the player where they can't spawn.

Gazok says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:22pm

Difficult and very fun! It reminded me of Curiosity, but in a good way :P

Ed Okonik says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:28pm

Well balanced and fun

h8urf8 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:29pm

As said above the difficutly is perfectly balanced.
Pretty fun game to play.

And with the destruction of earth, universe is finally mine.. wait, what?

Mago says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:32pm

Simple but fun. Nice idea, thanks to regeneration of the world game is chalenging.

someone says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:35pm

Yay, square earth. Good fun.
Didn't realise I could kill enemies at first, ended up dodging loads of bullets.

strong99 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:37pm

With the Earth destroyed the universe is mine? :0 I didn't notice the planet regenerated until it was too late :P haha, took some time ^^ Fun game :)

h.attila says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:05pm

Fun little game.

Cyboot says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:35pm

nice game.
I was a little confused at first when the land started to regenerate, but it made the game more interesting and harder to win.

good job.

Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:53am

That was so hard, but I did it!

My strategy was to first dig a tunnel to the center of the world, then repeatedly circle it, avoiding enemy bullets until I destroyed it all.

Experienced some slowdown toward the end which really added to my anxieties!

In the future you might want to write shorter game descriptions. Most of that information isn't necessary to enjoy the game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]