December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

On the Run

by spacechase0 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

For various reasons (ie. I was kinda busy and didn't get a chance to fill in the intro) the police are now chasing you. Run away and collect the yellow orbs while you can!

You are the red car, the police are purple.

Skip the intro screen for now, nothing happens there.

Controls:
AD or left/right arrow keys to turn.
WS or up/down arrow keys to move forward/backward.
P to pause the game.
Q to go back to the main menu.

I wanted to do more, but I wasn't able to work on it the second day, and was kinda busy the first day.

Known bugs:
The traffic cars sometimes miss their turn and go off-road.

Porting notes:
I'd love to do a Mac build, but I use several C++11 features and when I tried to compile it on my laptop it didn't like a LOT of stuff... And using the GCC 4.6 installation I had gave a bunch of weird missing x86_64 symbols (or something like that). Any ideas?

I'm also not sure on how doing it for Linux works, considering SFML 2.0 isn't released. Help? :P

NOTE: This screenshot is on the hardest difficulty. :P

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#383Fun2.81
#460Overall2.81
#514Innovation2.54
#584Mood2.35
#623Humor1.81
#629Graphics2.19
#659Theme2.37

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:18pm

it was fun

lorancou says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:27pm

Yey! Scored 19 in hard :)
Well done, the mechanics are simple working, this some good fun. Nice programmer art too! I just wish you did some level design, the random generation might not be a good fit for this gameplay. Also, no audio?

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:31pm

OK proof of concept. I'm trying to get the code to compile here with Clang on my Mac. Which version of SFML are you using 1.6 or 2.0 pre? I'm also missing util/Math.hpp and util/String.hpp. Are these yours or from another lib?

spacechase0 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:35pm

lorancou: Thanks. :) But yeah, I'm quite happy with the "art", even though everything uses polygons without textures (text doesn't count :P).

I did notice the level issue while playing, especially since the yellow orb doesn't always appear on the road, but I didn't have time to work on it the second day (hence no audio).

zenmumbler: SFML 2.0. I'm using a version more recent than the prerelease, but it should be fine.

The other library (although it is mine) is here:
https://github.com/spacechase0/Utility-Library
When I was trying to get it to work, most of what I had to change in the utilities was related to my use of "auto" and using a string instead of std::string::c_str() for the std::fstream constructor.

HardScore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:13pm

i like the idea :)

Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:03pm

I liked the style, the chasing is pretty fun.

Mava says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:07pm

Its micro-machines! Yay!

iiAtlas says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:19am

Fun "arcady" game, easy to pick up and play :D

zompi says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:50pm

Rather difficult game, simple in idea but great in gameplay. And it has randomly generatet levels! Awesome. Btw. there should be theme from Benny Hill :D

h.attila says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:58am

It's simple but fun.

Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:24pm

Very nice, it's like a mix of snake and pacman

AdricZero says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 2:00pm

controls were a little difficult for me.

Aslai says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 1:32am

Anyways, it would be really nice if the world was larger and the orbs didn't spawn off the road. I don't like to risk the enemies catching up to me :(
It would also be good to explain why you need the orbs.

delpes says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 1:35am

Fun :) Score 18 on normal

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]