December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Night By Day

by Macroz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Night By Day is a murder mystery game.

Had lots of fun again! The story will continue once I get some sleep :-)

Check out more info at the game web page!

Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#167Innovation3.30
#178Mood3.16
#280Graphics3.15
#321Theme3.30
#376Overall2.96
#484Fun2.59
#667Humor1.61
#670Coolness49%

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:05am

This game was presented in a very interesting way! I loved the imagery, especially the environment. However the best part of the game was the eyeballs.

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:42pm

I liked the use of story, that was a cool experience

arhpositive says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:20pm

Nice story. It should definitely continue. :)

Msquirrel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:21pm

Nicely Done :)

nolacoaster says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:24pm

Pretty enjoyable! I esp. like the style of the graphics. Very cool.

Kharza says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:37pm

Hmm I got kind of stuck. Clicked on everything I could see but I couldn't figure out how to make the game continue on. I'll come back to it later.

Winterblood says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:18pm

Nice style, but I quickly ran out of hotspots to click and couldn't figure out how to progress.

rumachine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:20pm

Very nicely done

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:21pm

Cool experience, got stuck hiding the knife for a few. Felt like the transition to being the murderer was a little sudden, would have liked a bit more lead up to that.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:22pm

That was a really nice interactive adventure there! I swear I was clicking much more franitcally towards the end. I'd like to see more of this and I'm not a guy who would normally bother looking into point 'n' click adventures!

h8urf8 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:36am

A bit short, but i enjoyed the story-turnover.

pythong says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:19pm

same problem as winterblood - didn't know what to do afterwards :P . also, the clickareas seemed awefully small - maybe blinking might have helped?

Xavier says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:32am

Interesting way of developing a story.

CireNeikual says ...
Jan 8, 2013 @ 1:00am

Nice game! The footprints were a bit difficult to see though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]