December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Intergalactic Oil Baron Simulator 2012

by Ragepyro - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Intergalactic Oil Baron Simulator 2012.

Ended up being more like Global Oil Sales Boringator 1985, but I digress. All the info you need is in the zip.

Sorry non-windows people, I couldn't figure out monogame quickly enough this time, so there's no linux/mac versions. Please don't hate me ;_;

Should probably add that it requires XNA 4, which you can get from microsofts site here: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1048Coolness22%

Comments

karlin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:23am

The game showed an error when I tried to run it, I'm on windows 7 64bit.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:07am

I'm also on Windows 7 64 bit and it did work. I like the idea of an oil baron simulation. I had some trouble figuring out to play at first but eventually won!

Saisaith says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:08am

Neat idea!

legendlazy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:18pm

I got a bug after I bought all the oil rigs and upgraded them all. The game didn't end http://i.imgur.com/EIJc4.png

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:26pm

Really easy game. Rigs are always profitable, just make sure you can survive the first month's upkeep after buying a new rig.

Ragepyro says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:10pm

I was going to add in market fluctuation and oil rigs breaking, the sprites for rigs breaking are actually in the game. I just didn't get around to implementing all of that as I feel it's better to submit a complete and easy game than one that is broken and hard.

Justin Kibbe says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:19pm

Your download link no longer works. I will check back later to see if it works again. (Get "File Not Found" page from dropbox)

strong99 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:12pm

Same as Justin Kibbe, no file to download

DalsGames says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:09am

No file in the link :/

Ragepyro says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:19pm

Fixed the link, sorry about that.

h.attila says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:52am

I think it had potential, but it's obviously unfinished.

goerp says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:20pm

oh no, I'm very evil!
Haha, what a weird game that was.
About Linux/IOS: you are allowed to port to a different platform after the 48 hours.

barigorokarl says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 12:03pm

Hehe, so, I'm evil? Then ON YOUR KNEES LITTLE OIL USING PEOPLE :-) Nice idea! Could use a little more to do, but you already said that ...
(Win7 64bit all ok)

Msquirrel says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 12:46am

Could use a bit of work, but it's quite nicely done, especially for the time.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]