December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

My Little World Domination Simulator

by Ace - 48 Hour Compo Entry

So, you've decided your hand at taking over the world without falling into the traps earlier villains have failed at.

All you need to play is either a wheel mouse or a normal two-button mouse and a keyboard, I guess you could make do with a pair of loose up and down arrow keys but that's up to you.

Controls:
Left click and drag minions (They look like hardhats) to perform nefarious acts, dropping a minion on an objective will send him/her out there do your evil bidding.

Right/middle click and drag the world to move your view, due to budget cuts we couldn't afford to stuff the entire world into your screen at once so this'll have to do.

Scroll wheel/up and down keys will let you zoom in and out of the world, to better track your domination.

Escape will bring up the menu if you're in-game and also acts as an abort button if you get cold feet when seeing the menacing main menu.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#120Innovation3.48
#135Humor3.24
#144Audio3.10
#158Overall3.39
#170Mood3.19
#170Theme3.65
#226Fun3.13
#380Graphics2.91
#694Coolness48%

Comments

LeCherLich says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:18am

Cool game, a little help text would have been nice and the right click-scroll was a bit buggy.
Overall pretty well designed though. I like the world map!

Manuel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:41am

Love this :) Not a very rich game, but still fun and addicting. Leveling kept me playing for some time. XKCD references always add points, as do the other nefarious acts.

Scott McBee says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:18am

Definitely one worth coming back to.

MadcoreTom says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:05pm

I cant see the text, its all just white blocks (Windows 8)

Adok says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:10pm

Hi! It seems the sprites are not displayed correctly on my computer (Windows 7). I only see white boxes. The country shapes are displayed correctly.

When I move the mouse cursor onto a white box after zooming in, some information on what these characters can do is displayed. But I am unable to do anything, or have I missed something? Maybe it does not run correctly on my PC.

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:30pm

Took me a minute to figure out how to get minions to do things. I liked the laughter on completion of a mission. Minion HP bars were hidden by rank markings and mission progress bars when putting multiple minions on a single task.

Ace says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:40pm

Right, I've uploaded a new build that should fix all the white blocks everywhere (The extracted version). Please tell me if it still doesn't work.

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:53pm

This is really addicting. I didn't stop playing until I feel the minions are just too many to keep track of (more than 20) The MOHAHAHA is a nice sound effect lol

Ace says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:05pm

If you keep on playing until you reach "ONE HUNDRED BILLION DOLLARS!" then you'll get a nice surprise :)

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:01pm

I liked the idea, I liked the graphics, good and simple which works for these kinds of games, but I wasn't sure what you're supposed to do

- Could use a bit more variety
- Needs a bit of a tutorial, it was a bit confusing what to do in the beginning.
- I'm not sure how you could lose. I understand your basis is Evil Genius, which I adore, but I must say that the original is better ;)

So yeah, do keep it up; I think it has potential but isn't just there yet. For the record, I'm a whiner, mine isn't any better :P

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:05pm

I liked it, fun experience!

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:30pm

I don't understand why both "North America" and "Iceland" are regions. I also don't understand why there's no Britain or Ireland.

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:34pm

And the "extracted" version still has white blocks for me.

Ace says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:09pm

The white blocks shouldn't possibly be able to happen, with the unextracted version it can happen because the harddrive isn't fast enough to extract the files from the data archives in time, but unextracted that shouldn't be able to happen.
As with the white text on Windows 8, the font I'm using to draw the text is literally baked into the executable so it can't happen because it's missing. All very strange and I have no idea how to fix it, sorry.

Ace says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:27pm

I just learned that the white text bug might happen if you have an AMD card with a driver below 12.11, try updating to that if you have such an issue.

Aslai says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:31am

I was having a blast with this game. The only thing I really want is many more task labels, and a minion organizer. Also this was a real buzzkill: http://puu.sh/1D1zI
This is the first LD game that I've ever given full 5s to. I hope to see further revisions on this!

h.attila says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:44am

I liked the game, but unfortunately just when I started to really get into it, it crashed.

Cyboot says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:35pm

funny game. It took me a while to figure out how it works (I almost give up because I didn't try to zoom in and it seemed to be broken) but it was fun after that.

Neonlare says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 5:42pm

Very sleek. Very smooth. Very fun! Got addicted to this for quite some time. Love the presentation style too!

Beanalby says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 9:12pm

Got the white blocks here, both versions, Win7 x64.

zompi says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 1:06pm

I can't see much purpose in this game, jutr putting minions in circles, no enemies, no obstacles. Might be a good strategy game, but for now it's a very simple, basic concept with awesome evil laugh :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]