December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

My damn coffee.

by dementor561 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Everything is pretty understandable.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#66Humor3.58
#127Audio3.17
#232Fun3.12
#398Mood2.71
#423Theme3.08
#433Overall2.84
#542Innovation2.48
#673Graphics2.08
#711Coolness47%

Comments

Crimsoneer says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:40pm

Great fun! I really enjoyed it.

Pope PAF says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:47pm

Cool game ;) your earth looks a bit like mine :D
I really like the sound xD

chrismwaite says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:57pm

Fun game. I thought the voiceover was very funny - shame you couldn't put a little more in the main game :)

mokujin says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:26pm

I like it) Pretty dynamic and fun game. Sound is cool)

DaviDeMo says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:04pm

- Best story ever!
- you added your voice. +1 for me =)

gratz

Harrk says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:20am

The first levels were a breeze but then the 4th one was too hard/impossible? I thought of it as a challenge and so I was there shooting nonstop for around 10 minutes before giving up. The enemies spawned waaaay too fast!

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:01am

Nice work, I liked the change in environments when getting a crystal...

iandioch says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:48pm

Haha, great storyline :D
Loved the gameplay, but when I died it crashed, and on restart I had to sit through the whole story again D:

ddionisio says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:39am

Mad props for the voice over intro, pretty good! You even have a goat recording :D There were so many green men, it felt overwhelming.

ceronman says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:00pm

Wow nice game! a lot of action. I enjoyed it!

caranha says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:02pm

Humor and voice acting is something really hard to get right. I almost gave up on your game because, frankly, the narration in the beginning was too annoying :-P

Luckily, I didn't, because the game was rather fun. It was fast paced, and the enemies spawn was fast enough that sometimes fighting them out was simply not an option.

I think you did pretty well on the gameplay department. Work a bit more on the graphics and sounds (by the way, the game over sound would keep playing even if I restarted the game immediately), and you will have a great game!

Also, a suggestion: once you beat the game, it is really easy to speed run it. You could try to implement some sort of random mazes to keep the game fresh.

Cheers,

bechsen says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 6:33pm

well done :)

firestorm713 says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 12:42pm

Interesting. I could do without the million year intro, but it was still fun!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]