December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Nemesis

by dj_pale - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Was not really participating in this one, but sacrificed this nights sleep at the very end. Didn't spend an awful lot of time on it (can be seen on gfx and length of game).Initially I thought the concept was good, but it will remain to be seen ;)

Tools:
* Code / Framework: Haxe + NME + HaxePunk
* Gfx : Paint.NET + Inkscape
* Music / Sfx : FamiTracker
* Levels : Ogmo Map Editor

Instructions:
* Use Arrow Keys to move Hero
* The Villain (Nemesis) will move opposite
* The Villain should collect more gems than the Hero
* Move Hero and Villain together to end level

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#62Innovation3.72
#100Fun3.44
#103Theme3.80
#212Overall3.28
#298Mood2.91
#304Humor2.71
#381Audio2.38
#625Graphics2.20
#694Coolness48%

Comments

edric_garran says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:02am

Very cool idea.

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:34am

Pretty cool, I like that when you lose the first time it acts like a gameplay tutorial.

dek says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:54pm

Nice idea!

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:56pm

I really like the idea - especiall ythe idea of the fight at the end.

henrypenface says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:14am

Sweet concept, would like to see it explored further.

Smaxx says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:14am

Interesting approach on the classic "mirrored movement" found in some dungeon games like the Zelda series.

JFlegle says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:27pm

Great game!

Nehmulos says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:27pm

Nice idea, especially that you have to reunite villian and hero in the end and kind of prevent the hero from collecting gems.

The first lava level from the screen shot was really hard and took me a few minutes to beat. I also liked your jumping Tutorial boxes.

InfN555 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:28pm

"You died, you fool!" XD
I like the idea of the game, and the fact that it doesn't lag like every other game I've rated. The only improvement I can suggest is changing the collision box of the sprites so that they don't die when one pixel of their head touches the lava. I'd like to see an updated version of this game!

Matt Tuttle says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:12am

Great little puzzle game! The first lava puzzle was tricky and I like that you couldn't just push the hero into the lava. I'd love to see an updated version with more levels.

jfroco says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:02am

Simple and fun. Really liked the mechanics. Congrats.

Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:17am

Neat game! Pretty bugless, if a bit unforgiving regarding lava. The epic fight requirement for ending the level was a nice touch too. Well done!

JaJ says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:51pm

It's like binary land, but different. Nice concept. It would have made more sense if you had to colect weapons or something that actually gives you an advantage in fighting the hero.

Houly says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:03pm

Nice mechanic. Graphics could use some more work.

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Fun idea and a few test levels to try it out in with explanation and sound! Not bad for a day's work.

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Wow, I gotta say, this is brilliant!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]