December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Day Before Monkeymass

by Lashiz121 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's the very day before Monkeymass. But look your job is to do so that those little monkey DO NOT get their presents. So get in there kill all the melves(monkey-elves) and the Manta(Monkey-Santa).

Controls:
1-9(Select ball color)
R(torch)
T(hide torch)
Mouse left(shoot)
Mouse(look)
WASD(move)
Space(jump)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#366Graphics2.94
#524Humor2.07
#580Mood2.36
#630Overall2.48
#638Fun2.19
#687Theme2.25
#706Innovation2.03

Comments

Felix20 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:40pm

Graphics are nice, I don't know if using the suzanne head is allowed though.
It was fun, but it ran a bit slow on my computer.

JaJ says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:58pm

I like the look of the buildings. Having to switch between so many colors seems an unnecessarily frustrating mechanic, even though in the end I only found a whole bunch of yellow monkeys and a single red (maybe orange?) one. I also like how you made the player more evil for not just having to kill monkies, but monkyELVES.

delpes says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:32pm

First game that was able to scare me :) Sounds would have been nice though to be able to check if there's a monkey behind you. Died sometimes without knowing what happened. Lazy me just bombed the melves from a distance but got surprised by those living on the 1st floor :) I liked it

Starspell says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:34pm

I don't think my laptop can handle this. It crashed as soon as I clicked Start Game. I'll try it again later on on a different computer.

lucasncv says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:43pm

The first monkey I saw really scared me haha

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:18pm

Pretty weird. Sort of game i'd love to play drunk.

TylerJones says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:44pm

Clever use of Suzanne head, but you don't really feel like a villain, and there's no point to the game. You're shooting monkey people just because they're there.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:17pm

The game looks a bit as if it was designed to demonstrate the basics of blender ;) Found it funny for a shortwhile, but I couldn't find a difference in the colored projectiles or any goal to achieve. But I laughed while reading your description :)

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:32am

Monkeys made me really scared at first. :)
Anyway I didn't understand if ball colors really affect the game.

jackspinoza says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 8:02pm

something quite jarring about those floating, limbless chimps.

Aslai says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 3:04pm

125 megabytes? One-hundred-twenty-five megabytes. For this? What on earth is it all being used on? You have 3 meshes: the building, the ground, and the monkey. You have a few textures for them, but 125 megabytes? I have no idea how you managed to achieve that.

That aside, it was somewhat jarring to see that first monkey float down on to me from several stories up. It's also freaky when I turn around to see one right in front of my face :p
Actually killing the monkeys and getting to the end was too tedious and I gave up after 3 deaths.I was able to go by the backs of the buildings though and get to the red one, but I couldn't kill it before it killed me :(

Jan 4, 2013 @ 11:58pm

I played through and killed all of the monkeys. Very difficult, they're so fast! Wasn't expecting them to go through the floors at first! Wasn't sure what the point of the multi-colored balls or torch were either... Great effort!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]