December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Local Mastermind

by Nehmulos - 48 Hour Compo Entry

!!! WARNING !!!
This is not a game!
This is a self-maintaining simulation!
Move around the town and watch people doing things, but you can not interject!

=============================================
I wanted to generate a little town and let the player hire thugs to collect protection money, beat up civilians and steal from stores.

You would have to manage your thugs and get rid of the ones that don't collect you enough money, or raise too much police suspicion.

You would also have to organize heists, synchronizing everybody's schedule and distracting the police.


Sadly I only managed it to get the simulation-part done.
There are some ui buttons, but they are all not working.

You can click on People to see what they are doing.

=============================================
Here are some ai examples:

Thugs go to a node and wait for other people to arrive, once they arrive the thug stops them and harasses them until he gets 5$. After some time they move to another node.

NEETs commute between the library and the park to relax on both places.

Workers go to work until they are tired.
Each worker has a job in a dedicated building.

Every person has a dedicated home.
Everybody returns home when they are tired.
Everybody eats when they are at home and hungry.
If there is no food at home they go to the store and bring new food home.
Every action increases sleepiness and hunger.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#449Innovation2.67
#701Theme2.15
#767Overall1.75
#1048Coolness22%

Comments

robashton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:53am

Shame this isn't finished as it looks like quite a cool simulation that you had fun doing

De10ter says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:04pm

Nice concept, shame it didn't get finished.
A minimap would have been a welcome addition too.

zompi says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:07pm

Could be an interesting game, some kind of mafia simulator and everything on pure web! Sounds like good concept for online game.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:13pm

This was really ambitious, sorry you didn't get it finished. I like the idea though

atrodo says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:47am

It's a shame that you didn't have time to add any mechanics, looks like it would have been really neat.

Diamonde says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:28pm

Cool game idea.
Even cooler is, what I think at least, the graphical style. It is very similar to what I used to draw on computers when I was a little kid, and this really inspires me to see at games as a simple interactive toy instead of what I've seen in later days in all of those AAA games and such. Maybe what I'm trying to say is that games doesn't have to be all that complex and fancy, just to bring out some joy by watching it tick :)
So for that reason I find the "mood" or atmosphere very simple and inspiring!

Xavier says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:45pm

Like the concept and sad it isn't finished.

Dec 27, 2012 @ 5:00pm

The thugs wear "Bank of America" caps? Interesting... ;) A cool little ecosystem with some nice emergent properties, just a shame the game systems aren't ready yet. I find it pretty amusing and the graphical style is really nice. Cool tune too ;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]