December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

BIOMINT

by mrspeaker - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You play a mining giant who just want to earn a living. To earn this living, you send out probes around the globe (sprinkle them around - but watch it, they cost a bit) which detect the presence of valuable minerals. They will grow in size when they pass a vein.

You now know where you should blow up the earth - don't be stingy with the explosives (they're not so expensive). You'll need a fair bit to get to the core. With luck, you'll to uncover the red goodness.

Once you have unearthed some treasure, deploy a mine (careful, it's a bit pricy all this digging) to retrieve the goods and earn your coin while tilling the earth bare!

[UPDATE: I spent a bit of time after the comp tweaking things in the "improved" version: you're punished by your shareholders if you blow up non-mineral-producing earth, you can mine the ocean now with (expensive) oil rigs, and I added some polar ice caps... just for fun]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#96Innovation3.58
#105Mood3.33
#237Graphics3.28
#288Overall3.13
#320Audio2.55
#346Fun2.88
#423Theme3.08
#475Humor2.20

Comments

gre says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:34am

This is great concept!

Nice job for the map generation.

Lidfrid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:43am

The map generation is very cool,

I hope you will solve the submitting problem!

dek says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:28pm

Nice map generation! Lovely sounds and atmosphere. Sadly I could not find any red minerals even after 5 minutes of gameplay :S

mrspeaker says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:11pm

Thanks dek! (That's what the "scouts" are for - sprinkle them around until they change size - size indicates mineable goodness ;)

Red Mike says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:02pm

Somewhat odd instructions, but eventually figured it out. Interesting!

HardScore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:45pm

Very unique,I like it :)

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:56pm

I found lots of red stuff by just blowing up stuff at random positions without ever using scouts.
Even with bomb tool selected the Earth rotated when I clicked, this caused some bomb misplacements.
I actually blew up roughly 1/4 of the planet before getting bored, does the game have other levels or a win condition?

mrspeaker says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:11pm

Mining is a strange game: The only winning move is not to play. Also, this is LD - so the things like "enemies" and "some kind of point" were excluded due to time constraints ;)

Hazel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:10pm

Nice! I wasted a lot of money on scouts until I figured how the work, but it's a cool idea.

bentog says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:13pm

It's hard to understand, but it's fun. Great audio and mood!

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:24pm

Very cool, a nice unique game!

amassingham says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:37am

Love it.
Would love for the world itself to have depth ( really give the digging into it some impact - you can see these chunks ripped out of the earth ).

I'd also consider changing the colour of the minerals from red to gold. Red made me think I'd uncovered magma.

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:15am

Cool!

mjcorm says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:19am

This has some great potential. Wonderful submission!

Udrian says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:25pm

This game have potentials if expanded on, lacks goal and content right now. I really like the x-com styled globe that you perform your operations on!

ChainedLupine says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:20pm

I agree with the red comment. I initially overlooked the minerals because I thought I had mined too far. :)

Like the atmosphere, very spacey and abstract.

Cthu says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:43am

Didn't find any minerals, but I love how everything looks and the overall mood/ambiance.

ananasblau says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:08am

four tries to understand later I made $37,000,000 and could go on like this. This is the stuff minecraft is missing. It's a game with potential.

Niavlys says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:51am

Great idea, and it fits the theme perfectly! Map generation is great, but I wonder if it would be feasible to make it join on the sides, not to have this vertical separation (not sure if I'm saying it correctly ^^)
I'm having trouble to beat it though, but I'll keep trying. :)

Husky says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:38am

Good idea, very evil :p!

FrederickK says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 3:30am

Map generation? Nice!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]