December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Baboom:The Villain

by celsyum - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are big creature and you hate cities.
Your target: to travel given distance as fast as possible.
Controls: Mouse left button
- click to start sliding
- click and hold to open your mouth

Eat Humans to get small extra speed and eat GOATS to get extra time for opened mouth.
Use shop and spend your money to upgrade.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#134Audio3.15
#169Fun3.26
#192Humor3.05
#226Theme3.51
#276Overall3.15
#309Mood2.89
#404Graphics2.83
#523Innovation2.52

Comments

h.attila says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:12am

The game is very simplistic, you don't have many actions available. The presentation is nice.

Meep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:14am

Nice game! I think there's a bug where if you continue holding the mouse button down when your mouth-bar empties, you can keep your mouth open up until you release the mouse button (Can keep it open the entire run).

chribbe1 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:16am

Love the small people and the blood when eating them! Would be nice with some more actions. Nice!

PerilousPete says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:27am

I get the same bug as Meep (in fact I didn't realise this wasn't intentional until now), but I really enjoyed this game D:

celsyum says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:17am

thank you for your feedback. Fixed bug.

aeveis says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:23am

got to the end, I like how it was a continuous journey. Maybe if there was changing landscape the further you got? Couldn't get the oil and boost last upgrades before I won; the price was too high.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:23am

Quite fun. There is just something with the moving background : my eyes burn. :)

kroltan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:23am

Awesome game! Make an Android port and sell it for 0.99 and you'll become rich! But of course add more actions.

Starspell says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:30am

Nice idea for a game. However buying upgrades doesn't really help you past the first buy - you still move about the same speed and for the same length of time. Keeping your mouth open doesn't give you a very big boost to your speed, not enough to really make picking up anything worth it.

Some of the people and goats spawn could never be picked up which was confusing and occasionally everything would some rendering for a time.

I did however like the monster's animation and the buildings. Shame that people didn't fall out of buildings when they got damaged.

Luis Anton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:33pm

I still wonder what kind of big creature I am :D

celsyum says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:16pm

you are Baboom :)

Pixelbear says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:13pm

Pahaha. That was great! Simple premise, executed excellently! Also, that creature looks hilarious. :P

pereubu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:28pm

that's a neat game, the second half of the game is a bit long because of the expensive upgrades i think, but i still really enjoyed it a lot D:

chrismwaite says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:28pm

Nice little game. Like the shop mechanics. Would be nice to have a bit more variety to the environment and some more upgrades in the shop (perhaps lasers and the like)

Cosine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:29pm

This game has a certain charm to it. While it's very simple in scope, and not particularly polished to any degree, it actually feels like a game you could find in an arcade. The combination of simplistic graphics and cheerful music really helps sell the mood.

The gameplay needs the most refining of anything. Upgrades had no visible effect, I would recommend making the initial stats of the monster very weak. I would also recommend either removing humans/goats from the other lane of the road, or let the player move from lane to lane.

Your graphics were pretty grating to look at. Humans were small, dark figures that blended pretty easily into the road, meaning I had to strain my eyes to see them at high speeds. I would also recommend making more than one kind of building, although I realize this was probably not a priority in the 48 hours you had.

Overall a very rough game, yet also quite a bit of fun.

Cat Burton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:07am

A simple game, but fun to play. The audio is lovely! Well done :)

ddionisio says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:07am

Pretty cool monster, that pretty much caught my attention. Because it's such a unique looking monster, I played it for a little while :) The mouth mechanic helped keep each run from being too repetitive.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:12am

Your villain is so cute <3
I had fun eating everything on my way

rujo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:21am

sick :) and fun to play, needs just some graphics fixes

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:06pm

Fun game with a simple yet fun concept. I enjoyed it.

Husky says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:17pm

Fun, like the cute monster and music :)

strong99 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:12pm

Very nice and polished game. Not much to do but enough to keep you occupied trying to get the best out of it :) Ran smoothly too!

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:27am

The game is really fun and the monster is just great.
Maybe level 3 for options are a bit expensive.
I like the free run, but it misses some kind of goal.

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 4:11am

Fun game, pretty addictive! Perhaps a bit too luck-based though.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 9:04am

So random...fun, in a really weird way. o_o Feels like my eyes are hurting just watching everything fly by o_o

Nice job on the music, is that FamiTracker?

celsyum says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 5:54pm

no , its SiON

garygreen says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 7:13pm

That was a nice bit of mayhem - I wasn't sure how to control the length of the monster's sliding though.

Pitoum says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 10:43am

Very cool mechanics! I finished it :)

fishbrain says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 2:03pm

lol... cool, although I had a bit of trouble grasping the controls.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]