December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Poacher

by kulhajs - 48 Hour Compo Entry

UPDATE: My game didn't work for the most people here, thank you very much for letting me now!
I originally made game in MonoGame which seems to be the source of all the failures, today I just rebuilt the game in XNA (Source code is the same) and it seems to be working!

If it won't work for someone please let me know as soon as possible on my twitter @kulhajs ;)

Hi guys!

I finally finished my first LudumDare main event!
Game doesn't contains all features I expected, but that's only because I switched to MonoGame from XNA few days ago and it quite doesn't support everything.

Anyway, in my game you're poacher and you have to kill all goats on farms! You start with your bare hands but later you can buy some weapons in local gunshop.

Controls:
- Arrow keys: move
- Space: attack, enter/leave shop

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#532Theme2.82
#588Mood2.33
#620Graphics2.22
#659Innovation2.22
#716Fun1.89
#720Overall2.17
#742Coolness46%

Comments

Starspell says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:45am

When I download and run Setup or the game application I get an error:
Unhandled Exception: System.DllNotFoundException Unable to load DLL 'open32.dll'

TuxedoFish says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:03am

error when i tried to play it was : Could not find a part of the path 'C:\Users\harry\AppData\Local\Temp\7zO7AAA.tmp\Application Files\LD25_Villain_1_0_0_2\LD25_Villain.exe.manifest'.
stack trace: at System.Deployment.Application.SystemNetDownloader.DownloadSingleFile(DownloadQueueItem next)
at System.Deployment.Application.SystemNetDownloader.DownloadAllFiles()
at System.Deployment.Application.FileDownloader.Download(SubscriptionState subState)
at System.Deployment.Application.DownloadManager.DownloadManifestAsRawFile(Uri& sourceUri, String targetPath, IDownloadNotification notification, DownloadOptions options, ServerInformation& serverInformation)
at System.Deployment.Application.DownloadManager.DownloadApplicationManifest(AssemblyManifest deploymentManifest, String targetDir, Uri deploymentUri, IDownloadNotification notification, DownloadOptions options, Uri& appSourceUri, String& appManifestPath)
at System.Deployment.Application.DownloadManager.DownloadApplicationManifest(AssemblyManifest deploymentManifest, String targetDir, Uri deploymentUri, Uri& appSourceUri, String& appManifestPath)
at System.Deployment.Application.ApplicationActivator.DownloadApplication(SubscriptionState subState, ActivationDescription actDesc, Int64 transactionId, TempDirectory& downloadTemp)
at System.Deployment.Application.ApplicationActivator.InstallApplication(SubscriptionState& subState, ActivationDescription actDesc)
at System.Deployment.Application.ApplicationActivator.PerformDeploymentActivation(Uri activationUri, Boolean isShortcut, String textualSubId, String deploymentProviderUrlFromExtension, BrowserSettings browserSettings, String& errorPageUrl)
at System.Deployment.Application.ApplicationActivator.ActivateDeploymentWorker(Object state)
but ill re-download and try again

kulhajs says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:09am

This is weird, works for me OK, going to try to rebuild and reupload

karsyf says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:26am

Need to package openal32.dll with the game!

kulhajs says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:32am

Thanks!

myachin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:36am

System.DllNotFoundException

kulhajs says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:01pm

Working on fix as hard as I can! Converted the game to pure XNA, now it appears it works only for people with XNA installed even it's made in monogame and should include everything needed really. I'll upload tested version as soon as possible! Thanks for letting me know guys!

kulhajs says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:14pm

OK, new version uploaded, I'm so sorry guys I didn't test it on more computer before uploading :( At least I learned something new I should do every time!

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:35pm

I can't run this game.

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:09pm

Goats! Fun game, cool design :)

sauronz says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:47pm

I could open the game but after a while it crashed when i was being attacked. But i could still play and feel the game. A nice first entry, quite enjoyable. I did like playing it. Hope to see more from you on next lds

SmallDeadGuy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:53pm

Kinda confusing at first. An in-game tutorial would be nice, and menu and things. I swear you move far too slowly. Pretty nice though

Mythalore says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:38pm

I like the graphics but the gameplay is a bit obscure.

mcc says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:39am

i had a hard time killing the sheep without dying almost right away from the bullets. it would be nice if your guy was faster/more agile

kulhajs says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:06am

mcc I agree it's really hard to kill and collect them all but it is possible!

jmaasing says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:05am

Sorry I can't rate, I don't have windows.

surpy says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:06am

This game was rather interesting. I understand 48 hours is 48 hours, and with XNA it can get kinda hard due to the fact it is a lot of just programming. I like the idea of this game. It was bit of a challenge.

h.attila says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:45pm

I didn't get money for kills after I bought the bow.

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Can you recompile again with the Reach profile? DX9 only VM here..

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]