December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Final Plan

by Doublecaster - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first ludum dare was a success. Here is my game "Final Plan".
You are just about to destroy the world, but then the heroes arrive! Defeat the heroes and continue your malicious plan.

The jar file should work with linux and mac too.

There is a little bug with the web version. When you go to next level it should show a text "Heroes loaded the game".

If the game dosen't work update your Java.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#295Theme3.37
#337Humor2.62
#389Fun2.80
#433Overall2.84
#486Innovation2.60
#534Mood2.46
#571Graphics2.37
#596Audio1.25

Comments

Justin Kibbe says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:29pm

Great overall gameplay. Got a little repetitive until level 5, and with no save feature I would have to go through level 1-4 to work on a strategy for that level. (Played on web) Good job!

zimra says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:13pm

Simple and effective, nice game !

donmilham says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:21am

Tough game! I couldn't get past level 1 and I tried several times. It was a bit difficult to determine who was attacking you and how. I would suggest lowering the difficulty a bit at least for the first level.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:18pm

On a mac get the following error... java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: fi/majavapaja/ld25/GApplet : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0

strong99 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:29pm

Fun game, with some animations it would be superb, the AI seemed quite good too, or I was rather bad ;) I'll go with first. :D

sclark39 says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:38pm

I get the same error as Rex

Spelchan says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:48pm

Killing Kloud made the game worthwhile. I also loved how the mage was so fragile. Pretty good combat system. With a bit of work you could easily turn this into a RPG or a tactical combat game. I do hope you expand upon this game as I love turn based RPGs.

Doublecaster says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:09pm

@sclark 39 and Rex
I think you need to update your Java. That sould fix the problem.

JFlegle says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:45am

Great game could use some attack animations for the ranged enemies so you can see how your getting hit.

dek says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 2:02pm

I liked the Idea and gameplay, but I heard no audio. That could have made it a lot more atmospheric :)

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 6:56pm

Wow man, this is hard. I can't get past level one, maybe because I can't quite figure out the rules of how their attacks work. It's a good idea for a turn-based strategy game though.

azurenimbus says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 9:21pm

Interesting experience of fighting as the boss. Makes you appreciate that it's a tough job!

rvmook says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 9:36pm

Took me a while to get past a few moves. But then I found out by waiting one turn, teleporting next to the heroes and firing explosions to the three of the always makes you win. So jeej! It was too hard for me to play without this little cheat but I still enjoyed it. Like others already pointed out, a way to see what the heroes actually are doing would be a great improvement. Great stuff for just 48hours!

infernet89 says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 12:10pm

Like the idea of a turn based fight, but i needed more explanation on the ability, rather than simply use those skills to see whats happen.

Joseph Miller says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 10:43pm

I love me some turn based strategy. Some sound effects would've helped to characterize the different kinds of attacks, but I really liked the graphics you used. I wish I could restart the level when I lost instead of restarting the game. The homage/parody is pretty gratifying.

galman says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Nice idea! I really like it :) I would make the first levels a bit easier

Jacic says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Pretty nice game!

h.attila says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 3:02pm

I have no experience with turn based RPGs, but I think it's way too hard.

KevinWorkman says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 2:21am

This is a really great idea. I'm currently playing through Shining Force 2 (an rpg exactly like this one), so it was particularly interesting to play as the boss.

By the way, if you want a better host than dropbox, you might consider the free Java hosting I offer at http://StaticVoidGames.com. Either way, nice work!

StMatn says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 3:09am

Very cool character names^^ Bonus points for 2 times 7 ;) Was fun and pretty hard, but a dash of randomnes would be great (you can win the first 4 rounds with the same sequence of moves).
I'm a bit disapointed, that I was a lame boss without a second or even third form :P just kidding, nice work.

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Great artists steal indeed. Some nice inspiration from FF (Tactics) Vincent kicking my arse with his gunshots all the time while keeping a distance is somewhat difficult to overcome. A hit% addition would make it more fair for all parties.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]