December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Prophecy of the Villain

by Pitzik4 - Jam Entry

This is a top-down RPG-style pixelated game. I can't say much more here without giving away the story, but that's all you need to know before you play it, really. Help is included in-game.
I didn't finish the game in time, so it's incomplete, but all that's missing is a couple of chunks of the storyline, so it's completely playable, but very, very small. I might upload a complete version later.

And, oh, yes, it does have a goat in it. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1189Coolness0%

Comments

Wan & Manu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:51am

I gave up after two quests, cause I didn't know what to do anymore, so I probably missed a few things (like fighting, since you mentioned a sword)... But overall the game works pretty well, & the story is fun! The ability to swim & the footsteps to keep track of where you've already been are a nice touch :)

On the downside it seems like the game involves a lot of wandering around in the grass, and given that there's very few point of interests, it gets a bit boring when you don't know in advance where you're supposed to go. Otherwise, good entry!

Shugor says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:12am

I quite enjoyed this game, for what I played with it. just like the person above, I couldn't figure out what I was supposed to do. I got up to the bit where all the villagers start running away and you can kill them. Perhaps there was some hint in the text, but it would skip past quite quickly some of the time. Other than that, it was pretty fun and a good effort for a 72 hour jam.

Pitzik4 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:11am

I'm glad to be receiving positive feedback for this game! It's not finished, so as you can see the world is mostly empty, the directions are poor, and there's no winning condition, but now that I see people like it, I'm quite probably going to make a complete version. So, pretty much what I'm saying is, thanks, glad you enjoyed the game!

Gornova says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:43pm

Nice effort! Game need more thing to interact with it, so seems "empty"

I really appreciate cutscenes, well done!

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:14pm

Very nice. Reminds me Kings Quest somehow.

galman says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 10:00am

Nice game! I really like it. You should really work more on a post-compo version, it would be really fun :)

schnerble says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Kinda cool... ambitious to go for an RPG in such a short time, but some nice ideas there :)

TehSkull says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 6:28am

I like where this is going. Reminds me of the old Cartoon Network Summer Resort games. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3mje9avv_As

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]