December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Escape

by irl - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Instructions are on the webpage. The game starts as soon as you load the page and you're likely to be captured very quickly. Hitting OK will reset the game and score. This is probably something to fix. Other than that, it's reasonably enjoyable.

My first attempt at anything 3D.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#508Innovation2.55
#626Audio1.06
#664Graphics2.10
#699Fun1.98
#700Humor1.41
#701Overall2.25
#705Theme2.13
#727Mood1.68
#1189Coolness0%

Comments

EatenAlive3 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:17am

Nice. It was neat having the yellow squares as searchlights, but overall not extremely fun. I get how this kind of fits the theme, but not especially. The graphics were nice that they were 3d, which is something I've never actually done except for raycasting, nothing as flexible as this :P. Good job, but not extremely fun.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:27am

Interesting idea, but somewhat difficult to understand. Still has potential, though :)

cjgammon says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:03am

This is neat and I like the originality of a gameplay concept. The only issue I have is it seems a bit random. Maybe having a life meter or some way to track or know when you will get caught would help explain what's going on. It would also give the player the sense they have more control instead of just randomly getting caught. Good Job!

Winterblood says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:02am

Simple, interesting idea. High score 1970 :)
A key problem IMHO is that there's no way to predict when your square will turn yellow, so you can't ever get better at it - just get lucky once in a while. Like the gently moving camera, nice touch.

vociferocity says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:36am

pretty interesting game! I think it could have been improved by a few things: the constant rotation of the floor is kind of intrusive, it might be better if that was controlled by the player. a life meter, or being able to see when the blocks will change would also be really great. still a cool concept, though :)

ecool377 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:25am

interesting concept

amassingham says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:20am

The concept is really great, I would love to see this fleshed out into something based more in realism:
- Hiding in bushes
- Trying to rid yourself of scent so as not to attract dogs
- Trying to find a change of clothes.

Interesting!

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:09am

This game could use a bit more polish, but a nice concept.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:21am

Not bad I can see the concept of which you were aiming for and found it not to bad.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:40am

A bit abstract to be really enjoyable.

Hazel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:20pm

I like this as a game, but as it stands it doesn't really fit the theme. I imagine it would do so with themed graphics, but it was still quite fun to play without them.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:42pm

This game starts automatically, giving me annoying popups while I was reading the upper text.
An healthbar or something similar could have helped in determining when I was playing well and when bad. There's a lot of randomness, the cops where just "popping" at random positions, which lowered the fun. Some kind of evade and pursuing gameplay could have improved it a lot.
It fits the theme perfectly in the game description, while the game itself is so abstract it doesn't show much of the theme.
For your first 3D attempt, effects were ok, I loved the moving board, much less boring than a fixed one.

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:14pm

Very abstract, I can see how this would work if fleshed out a bit more

_AM_ says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:25pm

I left the tab open overnight while I was in a safe zone. I got 35k points. Just a bit of a glitch there.

If not for the message informing me that I was caught by police, how else could I tell I was a villian? What have you got against spheres anyways?!

chribbe1 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:23pm

"By the way, you're a sphere" made me smile in the description. Nice game, lacks some graphics and polish though.

Lidfrid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:15pm

I think it's too random, how can i know where is going to turn?

FinalMirage says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:04pm

Cool concept but it's pretty rough around the edges. Near the beginning when the map switches you have enough time to move to a free spot but after a few switches then it just insta-kills you when the map switches which is pretty frustrating.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:31pm

Nice little game, which language did you use for this, I'm intrigued by that, particularly if it was something like plain ol javascript with css transforms. Ran nicely inside Firefox. Could have done with some sound and polish but a cool game idea esp for only 48 hours.

Cat Burton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:39pm

Well done on making your first 3D game! :) As the others have said, it's a really interesting idea/concept. Seems like it has a lot of potential. I also agree with some of the comment in that it'd be nice to have some clue as to when squares were to turn yellow. Maybe a short warning before they change so you've time to try and move?

RARoadkill says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:28am

Very nice. and good job for first time in 3d. Some more time to get out of the spotlights would be nice. and I really wanted the sphere to roll around the play field

Mythalore says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:08am

Could use a tutorial! ;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]