December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Trying to get by

by PerilousPete - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Update to add extra platforms!

The game should be self explanatory, used WASD to move and mouse to shoot and place items. You are running a farm and the animal rights groups are trying to trash the place. The more money you make, the higher your score.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#247Fun3.08
#247Humor2.89
#326Theme3.29
#375Innovation2.83
#376Overall2.96
#543Audio1.64
#610Mood2.28
#653Graphics2.13
#867Coolness39%

Comments

kivifreak says ...
Dec 16, 2012 @ 6:45pm

Wow this is a great game. I like that at the end you have like no chance anymore ^^

davidwparker says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:53am

Fun game. I wish I could buy upgrades or better weapons.

Meep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:52am

I really like the idea behind this! :P Fun game.

LucaPavone says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:48am

Brilliant idea behind this game. Bravo!

h.attila says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:49am

Sound effects, more weapons and different types of enemies that attack you in different ways would've made it better.
I liked the cute animal drawings, and the idea is good.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:50am

This wasn't too bad I found you didn't rename the cow? Cause it's a puppy farm. But overall it's not to bad, Could have done with a upgrade system and some better sounds.

PerilousPete says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:54am

Thanks for the comments, guys! I didn't have much time (only a fraction of the 48 hours) so if I had more time I would have added upgrades/more weapons/more sounds/music/etc.

"I liked the cute animal drawings" - h.attila
Thanks! Drawing is usually my area of downfall.

"This wasn't too bad I found you didn't rename the cow? Cause it's a puppy farm." - ParaPup
Whoops! I'll fix that after voting is over. Thanks for pointing it out :D

Cosmologicon says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:34pm

Funny idea, I like the descriptions. I felt clever when I realized I could leave decoy chickens by the entries. I only wish the difficulty curve were a bit better balanced.

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:22pm

The little piggies made me laugh and I don't know why.

Deril says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:10am

No goats? ahh.. missed opportunity.. :) I would like things to escalate faster, but nice idea!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]