December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

NONEX

by feiss - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The IA and lots of parameters should be adjusted to be a perfect game, but oh, man, no time for that..

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#35Audio3.63
#40Innovation3.90
#43Overall3.75
#64Graphics3.99
#103Mood3.34
#129Fun3.37
#551Theme2.77
#614Humor1.83

Comments

feiss says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:22am

troups == troops

photonstorm says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:23am

Lovely fun :) One of those strange sorts of games where the 'harder' the levels get, the easier it is to complete them (because you get so many more bullets from your ships).

tcql says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:05am

that was really cool :)! awesome graphics and really interesting concept

feiss says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:12am

Thanks! :)

HBurd says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:27am

Very fun. Best one I've seen yet.

Spierek says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:45am

A bit too easy, but really well done. Kudos.

auhsoj_ says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:48am

Really nice.

Zillix says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:50am

well done. fun to play and looks great. could see this as a mobile game!

Sam Driver says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:57am

Very nice aesthetics, and good fun. I'd have preferred to skip the first level and get into the action faster.

feiss says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:09am

thanks to everybody! :) I think it could be really fun, but it needs more features and gameplay tweaking (too easy/short now)..

hint: you can use keys 1-6 to jump to a level.

LPGhatguy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:27am

I liked the whole concept of the game, but I didn't feel like a villain. The only thing marking me as the bad guy was the fact that I was orange instead of blue. Very nice graphics, sound, and mood though.

monomanio says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:53am

Very nice! Awesome visuals and a nice feel to the gameplay. This would be truly awesome on a touch device.

Xymostech says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:58am

I think that it would be more fun if it was a lot harder to win. And if it was more obvious that I won. Other than that, good. :)

Falkreon says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:00am

I agree with Zillix, this has a lot of potential as a mobile game. The graphics are really crisp, and the game just lends itself to touch. Overall, a really strong entry!

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:18am

@feiss
The combination with drawing paths for the minions is really cool! And thanks for rating mine :)

For other people, I've got a "bullet hell reversed" game which is more or less with simliar idea, but without art and sound at all though :p
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-25/?action=preview&uid=18318

angelk says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:24am

Nice look! I had a similar concept of playing the boss in a shmup. I thought the most effective way to kill the good-guys was to just fly your troops directly into their ships.

nimblegorilla says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:25am

Nice entry. The graphics look very crisp.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:36am

Abstract, subtle. It shows promise, but plays awkwardly as it is.

RylandAlmanza says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:42am

Very awesome job!

Komradus says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:44am

Terrific graphics and fun gameplay, hope you continue to work on it.

ecool377 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:46am

AMAZING.

ix says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:01am

Interesting idea.

Graphically, I like the abstract boxes as ships -- very nice and consistent mood.

I think some work on the core gameplay is still needed to make it really solid (e.g. not clear how/what it means to lose; definitely want different ship types, definitely need to figure out how to make routing matter).

leafo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:45am

Cool idea and game you've got here

amassingham says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:27am

Nice.
Simple concept, and a bit too easy, but good nonetheless.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:42am

Nice feel and simple elegant graphics.

Meep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:00am

The aesthetics were pleasing :)

Bemmu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:08am

Great idea (perhaps even innovative), encountered no problems while playing. Even had music and a nice backdrop.

Kiyaku says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:34am

Very nice game, great concept! It feels a bit slow at the beginning, would have a preferred a slightly faster version personally.

Faust says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:26am

It's really cool, very stylish game.

galchwyn says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:08am

True masterpiece. Both innovative and beautifully designed, it's a joy to play. It has redefined the puzzle/shooter genre.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:08am

awesome game, extremely fun and overall a great game.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:47am

Really enjoyed the concept, but the reality of the game seemed to mostly about spamming as hard as you can. Nice music.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:49am

Nice work I did enjoy what I was playing, It feels like it would be a great IPod game or Android.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:59am

Great idea. I don't think i have seen something like that before.

feili says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:17pm

nice

rumachine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:47pm

Great game and graphics!

joekinley says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:13pm

Gaaaah what a hard game. This is so hard it's even harder than hard. The ships just did not shoot as they were supposed to do.
But good lord what a nice and innovative game. Congratulations on that. Overall I had a fun time, although it was soooo hard. The mechanic was fun to play, it looked good and the audio was nice too.

Volpes says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:18pm

Love how simple but yet slick the graphics is!

feiss says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:45pm

Thanks to everyone!

It's funny, some say it's deadly simple, others that is very difficult. Interesting..

hypp says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:15pm

Great work!!

bitbof says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:32pm

Quite fun with a pen-tablet

Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:17pm

Really nice aesthetic here. Some issues with the music looping, I found it cut off early or started late every once in a while.

Reminded me a bit of Strikefleet (iOS)

Msquirrel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:08pm

Challenging, fun, inovative... I enjoyed it mate :)

bentog says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:16pm

Really cool graphics and gameplay!

ilo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:17pm

A promising mechanic, but it was easy to win bu overloading the enemy from one side.

JaJ says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:58pm

A really great entry. A very original take on the 'you play as the enemy in an already existing game' solution to the theme. I do agree however that there is no real context that makes you feel like the enemy. All there is is the fact that you're orange and that the code of shooters dictates that things that come from the top are bad and things that start at the bottom are good. A solid four stars on all but one category (humor)

Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:02pm

The graphics are really great, the whole atmosphere of the game is really neat. The same basic technique seems to work for all levels though, so you probably could mix it up a bit. That said, nice use of that online music generator : fits the rest of the game. Hope you'll turn this into a fully-fledged game.

Mythalore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:07pm

Very slick, really nice game!

Cosine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:47pm

Interesting game, but execution was meh. Cool idea! The overall mood of the game was very well done. Gameplay needs refinement, as the only reliable tactic I found was to route my ships around lines of fire, then kamikazi into the enemies.

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:53am

This is a great entry. The art style and feel all work together really nicely, and the music is fantastic.
Really like the mechanic.

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:38am

Really cool and innovational!

nickworks says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:11am

Very nice! Good ideas. I liked all of the little things that made this a pleasant experience: nice, simple graphics; good audio and music; and the shaking effect when ships explode.

iandioch says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:49am

I really loved the aesthetic, and the idea was interesting :3

Atomic says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:57pm

Great idea, I like the grapic style and the sound is OK. It would be better if it waited a couple seconds after you kill all enemies, it's hard to know you won on the first couple of levels. Would be more fun if you made it harder ;)

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:09pm

Great innovation !

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:45am

Otomata musics~

The game was pretty fun! I've played a few reverse-ship-shooters already but this one was actually very different so kudos on that.

The graphics were cool (and I did read the blog post with the original design which while I do think it's still superior with it's slick diagonals, the procedural ships must have saved you ages in dev-time) and the gameplay is solid if a bit detached, especially with the enemy ships moving in unexpected ways.

I hope you develop this further! :D

Mista Koo says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 4:00pm

Very beautiful visually and acoustically. Great concept too.

PaulSB says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Fantastic. It is a bit too easy to just overwhelm the opposition with numbers - thought (hoped) it might go a more strategic puzzle route at first. But I love what you've done with this, presentation is great.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]