About | Rules and Guide
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 7 days, 16 hours, 0 minutes, 38 seconds
  • October Ends: in 8 days, 16 hours, 12 minutes, 38 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 43 days, 17 hours, 0 minutes, 38 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Evil Robot of Doom Crushes Innocent Town due to Parliamentary Disagreement - Nik - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    EVIL ROBOT OF DOOM CRUSHES INNOCENT TOWN DUE TO PARLIAMENTARY DISAGREEMENT

    Control the robot of the mad local member of parliament hellbent on destroying his neighbouring town after they sent him an insulting letter regarding his parliamentary decisions.

    Comes with GameJolt highscores! Create an account on http://gamejolt.com to submit yours now! DO IT

    Created with Game Maker 8.1 in approximately 20 hours.
    All content was created by myself.

    View Nik's journal. | View all entries by Nik

    Ratings

    Graphics4.58
    #5Audio4.06
    #9Mood4.05
    #12Overall4.05
    #19Theme4.20
    #48Humor3.67
    #63Fun3.58
    #240Innovation3.13
    #817Coolness42%

    Comments

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:34am

    I love it!

    farmergnome says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:44am

    Loved the visuals! Very Nice Nik.

    savethejets1 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:56am

    Awesome!

    farmergnome says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:57am

    Loved the visuals! Very Nice Nik.

    shatterhand says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:38am

    The presentation and visuals are really awesome, but the gameplay itself isn't that hot. The way the screen "shakes" constantly may make the game look good, but makes the game harder than it needs to play. The secondary weapon seems to be really unuseful, and the robot arms seems to move more randomly than under the control of my mouse.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:02am

    Loved it... nice soundtrack! :)

    deathray says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:33am

    The graphics are amazing and inspiring! That's one of the best robots I've seen in a video game. He's even fun to watch after he's "dead".

    I agree with shatterhand - the screen should be less shaking and chaotic, at least at the start. After a while, let the world go haywire and let the sun spin.

    Very polished!

    peggiosoft says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:13am

    great graphics effects, seems like playing in an old 50's sci-fi movie.
    but you should put more enemies!

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:36am

    hahaha!... freakin' awesome!
    Great mood and style - graphics and sound work exceptionally well.

    mokujin says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:54am

    Amazing art and music *_*

    ParaPup says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:32am

    That was a very enjoyable game, I really liked it. I hope you get into the top five :)

    blackarm says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:35am

    Wow, that was gorgeous. Not a fan of the non-skippable opening cut scene that was way too large to make sense of though. Using 1:1 and just adding black around them would have fared better, imo. Very nice though, and fun!

    BlockBrains says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:07pm

    Beautiful game! Love the camera movement as an effect tho it makes it harder to play, but it looks neat. Awesome!

    gameXcore says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:04pm

    Very fun!

    amidos2006 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:45pm

    Your games always cause to me some headache due to lots of rotations and they are always difficult but really nice amazing game :) like ur style in games :)

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:41pm

    Near perfection !

    gabeochoa says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:58pm

    Awesome music, great visuals, I really like the camera movement.

    Msquirrel says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:14pm

    Just... WOW, speechless... (in a good way ;))

    garygreen says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:00pm

    Great visual style and I really liked the way the screen wobbled. Loved the humour too - I'm just wondering which MP you had in mind? :-)

    Nik says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:12pm

    All of them in general really, they all have evil minds

    pereubu says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:46pm

    Astounding graphics and insane mood makes me think this is the shiniest game i've played so far in this LD, and probably 'till the end D:

    Sos says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:27am

    I was wondering 'Is this game as good as it looks?'. It's better.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:32am

    Obviously, this is absurdly pretty and sounds amazing. I actually really like the gameplay too. Not sure why people are complaining about the rotations, since it seems like they're central to the gameplay in a way.

    namuol says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:08pm

    *Slow clap*

    That music is *perfect*. You know how to make the most of the sin() function. ;) Hilarious premise. Great stuff.

    Nik says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:12am

    sin for the win

    jackspinoza says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:29am

    What a laugh! Great stuff. The voice is great as is the music and sounds in general.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:07pm

    I love everything about this. Holy shit the music is perfect and the graphics and presentation are perfect. I love the tilting camera and the over the top-ness of - everything. Great job. Simple and very fun to play. About as good as you can get in 48 hours.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:13pm

    p.s. Agree with shatterhand about the gameplay and the missile not being that effective, but I think the gameplay could pretty easily be tweaked, so I'd work on it. This would make a hell of a cool .99 iOS game with some work.

    SuperDisk says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:40pm

    It's very nice eye-candy but not much in the way of gameplay. You kind of randomly swing your arm while pitifully slow bullets come out.

    The plane things just came too fast to destroy. Also, once you've been hit once, you get knocked back and can't shoot in a proper direction, so once you've been hit you're pretty much dead. Could use some work, but the graphics are definitely nice.

    allinlabs says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:49pm

    Great aesthetics and art style. I might like it even more if the game was slower, I feel like it's a little hard and the enemies come too fast.

    Nik says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:30pm

    Thanks for the great comments so far! Yeah, I know the screen tilt is a bit excessive at times, but it just suits the game I guess. And I'm used to using it. Believe me, the tilt was about twice as much before I submitted it. As for points: people and houses give you points when destroyed/killed so be sure to constantly aim at them when you can! Houses can only be destroyed by missiles. Use the launcher to shoot at the ground when you have a chance and use the machine gun to shoot the oncoming jets. The faster jets have less health so be sure to aim for those first. They also give you lots more points. With fuel cans, all you need to do is hover your mouse over it to obtain more fuel, so be sure to do so! The longer you leave collecting the fuel can, the longer you'll take to get your robot's arm back to a decent position, so grab it as soon as possible. Also if you play for more than 3 minutes, there's a keychange in the song OMG

    Nik says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:30pm

    I'm not crazy either

    Kharza says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:05am

    High marks!

    tommycreo says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:37pm

    Loved visuals and music so much. Awesome job.

    blob says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:58am

    Awesomeness.
    Great idea to slant the screen, adds a lot to the chaos of the scene !

    Jiggawatt says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:13pm

    The graphical style is interesting, but results in some awkward controls.

    killmonday says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:44pm

    Just lovely goddam big ass robots, they can never fail. GREAT! And awesome.

    markengley says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:52pm

    Amazing work

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:52am

    I suck at this, but I love this.

    lekochen says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 1:00am

    Amazing visual effects.

    Jan 4, 2013 @ 12:28am

    The graphics are really, really awesome! Good job. Fantastic game.

    Robotic says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 4:22pm

    Nice use of a crazy camera, power lines and stuff, every picture has a strong impact. This game has a crazy feeling ! Reminds me of vlambeer's games

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]