December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

BREAK!

by LucaPavone - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Run .exe file to play. You will have to log into a Google Account and Google Drive/Docs to download it.

Controls are shown on first screen.

Tools Used:
- Anvil Studio for Music
- GIMP for Graphics
- MS Paint for Graphics
- SFXR for Sound Effects
- Game Maker 8.1 for Engine

I have never made a stealth game before. Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#72Mood3.48
#81Fun3.50
#89Overall3.56
#116Audio3.23
#209Graphics3.38
#285Innovation3.04
#470Theme2.96
#530Humor2.06

Comments

ddionisio says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:10am

I'm a sucker for sneaky action adventure games, I had fun playing this one!

leothecool says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:11am

Super difficult, but fun. There is a bug where death will reset your maxiumum speed, but not your crouch status, so you can crouchrun past the guard patrols. I never figured out how to uncrouch manually, is it possible?

LucaPavone says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:15am

Leothecool: Ah I thought I got that one fixed, Thanks for noticing. :)

tumoxep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:22am

Awesome. Love when music progresses itself from level to level.

Sylence says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:12am

Awesome :)

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:59am

I seem to need to login to my google docs to download this, that's a bit of an unneccesary hurdle.

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:03am

This is quite pretty, well executed and well explained.

- The first time you need to duck, it's a bit confusing that you should, indeed, duck.
- I like the graphics style, and the gameplay. Well done.

Another game I don't really have much to whine about, well done ;)

Peltast says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:25am

Very nice! Given the story, finishing the character sprites would have reeeaaally helped with the mood. When he starts talking about humans vs monsters, one can't help but be struck by the fact they're all just circles. Oh well.

But seriously, I had fun and played to the end. Was hoping the leaning mechanic would be used more during the advanced levels, but otherwise enjoyed it.

EatenAlive3 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:23am

Wooo, awesome! I love games like this where you have to sneak past cameras and guards :D. Nice!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:48pm

Great job!
I liked everything really, the music, story, graphics, gameplay, the whole thing!

Faust says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:50pm

This is really great. Quite amazed by so many levels in just 48 hrs.

Geoege says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:51pm

Hey, i had real fun playing your game, music changes were pretty cool. nice done :)

gesangbaer says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:53pm

Loved the continuing narrative, excellent stealther ;)

Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:01am

Of the three stealth games I've played this is by far the best. I'm a fan of the music, narrative, and graphics style.

berareu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:37pm

Awesome! It's really polished, especially the gameplay , I liked the sprites too even if they are really simple! Great work! :D

MaTX says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:54pm

Well conceived gameplay, although maybe too much difficult.

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:44am

Nice graphics and refreshingly challenging.

ArkadyDracul says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:18am

Good one! I enjoyed it to escape from the guards with lasers!

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:35am

I had a good time! The stealth stuff was occasionally random, but it was fairly forgiving since I could spend a little time with the lasers and not die. And there were enough checkpoints that it wasn't frustrating. I think it needed some sort of climax at the end...?

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:12am

It was fun, but the ending felt a bit abrupt.

I enjoyed how the narrative was in small points at checkpoints, and you can read them while you're waiting, so it's more compelling to read the dialogue. The music pacing was a great idea too.

jmaasing says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 8:44pm

Sorry, I can't rate since I don't have windows.

Zelen3d says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 9:50pm

I love hugging walls!

h.attila says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:12pm

I liked that you were generous with the placement of checkpoints, otherwise it would've been very difficult.

MortalWombat says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 2:53pm

"You will have to log into a Google Account and Google Drive/Docs to download it."

That is very unnecessary and prevented me from playing. Why not throw it on a one-click-hoster somewhere? Done in a matter of minutes...

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Good focus on a small set of hazards and damage mechanisms. In the beginning I was wondering if the game would have been better off without the music but then it evolved twice and I understood where you were going with it. Nice. Good back story. Short and sweet.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]