December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Mr Pickpocket

by Waynetron - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Do you have what it takes to be a super-duper pick pocket person?

WASD to move around
Steal wallets by dragging from point A to point B

Drag outside the lines and you'll get caught.
If you lose your mark with your hand still in his pocket, you'll get caught.

Get caught by the police and it's game over!

Post compo version includes sound and some bug fixes / game tweaks.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#32Overall3.84
#54Innovation3.80
#66Fun3.56
#91Theme3.84
#178Humor3.10
#188Graphics3.44
#205Mood3.09
#742Coolness46%

Comments

wallmasterr says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:13am

supper cool, the design is soo slick. lovely clean visuals. Would like some kind of facal detail but it would be hard coz they turn and stuff.

Waynetron says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:53am

I really wanted to design the characters and have their faces rotate correctly, but I ran out of time :(

wardtwin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:07am

Love the clean graphics and the novel idea/game play. Well done!

Hitagi says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:01pm

wow thats fun - and a realy nice game *_* ♥♥♥

legomaster181 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:12pm

Great game! I don't think you needed to add their faces, it looks fine without them.

ignlg says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:36pm

Cool game. And a great idea for mobile devices. But there's no goat :(

fishbrain says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:54pm

nice!... very cute game, good design and graphics.

Manuel777 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:07am

Haha, "Off to jail for the rest of your life"
great game :D

monomanio says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:11pm

That was amazing! Super slick and minimalistic art, and some really cool game mechanics!

pfirsich says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:11pm

The game mechanic is really cool! It's a lot of fun, though after a while I just wait for me to screw up because it get's a little boring.

h.attila says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:45am

It's fun, I like how you get imprisoned for life if they catch you. :)

ceronman says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:47am

Very cool! Loved the dragging mechanism to steal wallets. Nice graphics. Some sound would have been nice. Thanks for writing it!

youdonotexist says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:47am

Awesome game. It seems like everything came together on this one. This is going to make for a really great touch screen-based game.

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:44pm

Lol. It's a great idea. I love the two mechanics. Congratulations. :-D

hissssssssss says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 5:02am

The timed dragging mechanic for picking pockets is brilliant, and the visual design and palette are perfect. Nice job!

saguaro says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Great mechanics, simple and fun. Love the clean visuals.

Benjamin says ...
Jan 8, 2013 @ 10:31am

Nice, you really know whete to put efforts to get a top qualitiy game. Thoses colors and the wallet animation are great. I wish the policeman would be a little more... hunting you :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]