December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Princess Keeper

by lorancou - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Rise towers, imprison princesses, watch knights trying to destabilize your protective custody. Be a REAL VILLAIN, don't let them succeed!

Ah, yes, some of those knights try to disguise themselves. Don't let them fool you. Maybe they're real goats, who knows. Anyways, keep your focus and your prisoner.

EDIT: The game takes a while to load, please be patient. You might have to refresh for it to start. Also IE doesn't want to play my lovely tunes so that's it: no sound for you, IE!.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#35Audio3.63
#44Fun3.69
#51Overall3.71
#90Humor3.45
#112Mood3.32
#122Innovation3.47
#131Graphics3.63
#174Theme3.64

Comments

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:10pm

Fun game, man =)
Your audio is amazing!

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:12pm

I actually quite liked this game, though it does seem somewhat buggy as I ended up with a white screen which does nothing.

- Nice game idea, not completely original but quite original within the theme.
- Pretty good execution
- Quite varied, at least compared to some of the others I've played.
- The only thing I liked less was the artstyle/quality, you should practice on this :P

(I've ignored the graphics for my overall score, cause I really did like this entry) ;) Keep it up~!

Luis Anton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:13pm

I like the idea! But doesn't it always reduce to... build a piramid (if you are able to with available pieces, that is)? :D

munchor says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:13pm

Great, great game! Excellent take on the theme, good physics + interesting art.

Perhaps when you drop a piece outside the placing zone it should go back to inventory instead of trashing it?

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:13pm

Nice little game !

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:15pm

Fine little entry. It's literally a drawing come to life. Fun homemade music with the right tone and theme. Good!

Datw says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:16pm

Really good game, but it eas really annoying that if you put the brick outside that space, it would just be gone. :(

gameXcore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:19pm

Very very fun indeed, another that needs to be ported to a touch device!

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:20pm

I enjoyed this and played through quite a few waves, I like how you can still win as your princess falls down from a height just because the timer has reached 0 ;)

goerp says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:23pm

So that's how you do it. Simple but it all fits.
This was a lot of fun to play and the graphic style was fun and coherent.
I also like the whistling villain building his evil lair.

On a 1024x768 resolution not all things were visible though.
Inspirational.

What did you use to make this?

lorancou says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:32pm

Thanks for all the comments! Indeed the blocks dropped outside the allowed zone should go back to the inventory. That was the most frustrating point for my friends/playtesters. But the deadline is the deadline, couldn't fix it in time!
@goerp This is HTML5/Javascript, specifically a mix of gamejs and box2dweb. And a ukulele :)

Yapikom says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:41pm

Hi. I loved the art style and animation, nice audio too.

The difficulty curve was all kinds of wrong though. The only level i had problems with was level 9, and I didn't even think about my block placement, just placed them. The game could have used a bit more varity too.


Oh and I found a bug (I guess it's a bug) and could reproduce it. I first found it on this:
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/24442039/LudumDare/screens/PrincessKeeperBug.png the block getting trashed didn't get destroyed, it was invincible. I experimented a bit and found out that this was foolproof too: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/24442039/LudumDare/screens/PKBug3.png. None of the little block got destroyed, no matter how much punishment they took.

Good job.

lorancou says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:52pm

@Yapikom Yeah I've seen that bug happening a few times, any chance you could tell me what's your browser/OS? The difficulty curve is indeed a bit broken. What I've seen so far is that people follow a strategy that work for them until they get stuck in a level where it doesn't work anymore. I didn't find something to counter that, but this would surely benefit from more polishing.

dcolgan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:32pm

Nice work! I like your sound effects and audio. Are you playing the music on a physical instrument? One thing I noticed is you can get rid of pieces by dragging them to areas that aren't the center column.

lorancou says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:46pm

Yep, I recorded my ukulele with a crappy headset microphone. Low tech ftw!

TuxedoFish says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:16pm

this game is awesome:D the audio and graphics are amazing and the gameplay is really fun. My only critism is that there is no way to place the blocks back if you decide you dont want them there but it doesnt matter really. It was genrally really fun ;D

mikemacdee says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:29am

i can't believe how much fun i had with this. and everything looks so adorable, too!

SmallDeadGuy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:00am

Nice game! Doesn't seem to get particularly exciting too quickly but nice nonetheless :)

Mava says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:41pm

Very original and different, nice use of physics I liked it!

Jiyko says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:32pm

Awesome music. Best I have heard so far. Great game

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:09am

I love the audio :)

Of course in medieval times, "villain" meant "farm hand" and they tended not to build castles. But if they did, they'd have wanted to imprison princesses surely!

Nick Cash says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:08am

According to my Jam team member Brian:

I like the cartoony feel, and find the concept pretty hilarious for some reason. It's surprisingly addictive considering how straightforward the concept is, and how the heck does physics even work in JavaScript?

That said it can drag at times, and I had a little trouble figuring out how close to the dotted line I could get the blocks. I lost a great many blocks to this. May their sacrifice not be forgotten!

Gornova says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:38pm

nice! good art and gameplay

michax says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 8:37am

Lovely animations, tune and grapchis. Nice gameplay and idea as well! Enjoyed playing it. One thing would be awesome though. Speed up button :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]