December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

THE PRINCESS IS MINE

by emveyh - 48 Hour Compo Entry

::::::::Story::::::::

You are the most evil villain and king of the goblins named Grakkor. Just a few hours ago you kidnapped the princess. Too bad that the King knows you very well ... and where your dungeon is located

He has send 9 Armies to bring his daughter safely back.

And that is exactly what you have to prevent. I mean it's YOUR princess, right? Exactly!

You have 3 loyal minions that will fight for you until the end. Defeat all 9 Armies and the princess will be yours. You lose the princess if the knights can free her or if all your minions are dead. Good luck!




::::::::Game Instructions:::::::::

(Hint: There is a instruction menu on the titlescreen)
- Select a minion by clicking on it
- Move the minion by clicking on the destination
- Fight your opponents by standing next to them
- Pick up upgrades by standing next to them
- The princess is located at the center of the map, protect her!

IMPORTANT: You don't have to intercept the enemies. They have a 2 tile wide radius. If your minion is within that radius they will automaticly attack you. You could say that they have the ability to attract them.

Update:
Since someone was asking what the upgrades do: The "shield" upgrade increases your maximum health. The "sword" upgrade increases your damage. The hearts just heal you :)




::::::::Development Info::::::::

The tools i've used:
- Language: Java
- OS: Linux (Ubuntu)
- IDE: Eclipse
- Libraries: Libgdx, libgdx-contribs
- Audio: as3sfxr, Sunvox, Audacity
- Graphics: Gimp, Google Web Fonts

- Total time spent (break, sleeping included): ~ 43 hours

- This was my 4th Ludum Dare Compo


Thanks for playing :D




::::::::UPDATE:::::::::

Added new platforms Web (Java Applet) and Android (.apk). If you want to play it as intended use the desktop version (first link). You can maximize the window and that makes it easier to play.

Timelapse now available! :)





Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#48Overall3.73
#66Audio3.42
#71Mood3.49
#85Graphics3.86
#108Fun3.42
#156Theme3.68
#199Innovation3.22
#214Humor2.98

Comments

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:32pm

Good game idea! And nice Job!
I don't like tactical game, but your game is good=)

jahlgren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:25pm

Good game. The difficulty could have been more linear

emveyh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:20pm

@jahlgren Thanks for playing :) I've spent a long time trying to balance it. I thought it would be good if the game starts easy and becomes harder the further you get. Besides that, the difficulty depents heavily on the upgrades that spawn / you pick up. The idea behind that was that there is a reason to move around. Before I've implemented the upgrades you could basicly just stand near to the princess and that was too boring :)

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:23pm

A little bit old school and good, i like it

CMaster says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:24pm

Pretty good, quite creepy feeling

Vennril says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:28pm

Neat gameplay and great atmosphere. I really liked the oldschool CRT look too. Well done! :)

Birchmountain says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:55pm

I really like the art style, i get the feeling i'm looking through a surveillance camera. The pathfinding isn't that great, one of my minions just ran away and ultimately cost me the game! D:

Still a great game and a neat concept!

emveyh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:14pm

@Birchmountain Sorry about that :( yeah the pathfinding is really not that great, it was quite hard to implement that in such short time. If your minion is still selected, it helps to just click again on the destination tile. That will update his path. Anyways, thanks for playing :)

jhrrsn says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:36pm

Crashes under Mac OSX 10.8.2 with Java 7 :(

emveyh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:39pm

@jhrrsn any error messages? try to open it via console (java -jar ld25.jar)

Spierek says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:22pm

Amazing execution. Loved the variety of enemy sprites, that 8-bit CRT filter and those hilarious taunts thrown by "the king of all evil". My only complaint is with the controls (allowing you to switch between minions using 1,2,3 would've been much easier), other than that - just wow.

krutech says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:52pm

I like the rogue like TD ish like gameplay. Nice graphics aswell.

pereubu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:38pm

one of the best game i've played so far, don't know what to say except i want more levels naow D:

ilo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:50pm

It looks great and the design is really quite elegant!

voidstar69 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:58pm

Android version works well and is fun. Well done for a good game, and for porting it so quickly.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:07pm

Very impressive. I can see a lot of potential for an expanded version of this.

atrodo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:12pm

I really enjoyed playing this game, it was very well done. I wish I could tell what effect the shield and sword powerups did. But very well executed.

emveyh says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:14pm

@atrodo The shield increases your max health and the sword increases your damage :) I wanted to add that to the instructions but the time played against me :/

pighead10 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:03pm

Some bugs screwed the game several times for me, my minions got stuck and couldn't move and pathfinding made them walk from one place to another. Otherwise, fun game.

Harrk says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:09pm

I really enjoyed this, it had a nice challenge to it and I ended up playing it a couple of times. Really nice job you've done on this!

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:10pm

Really good solid game, quite fun. Is there any difference in the heroes that come to attack. Didn't really notice, but I was wondering if there were any different patterns that that may affect strategy.

Ed Okonik says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:12pm

Awesome

Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:00pm

Nice graphical look, this was quite fun until it suddenly until the game window went all white, did the java applet broke? well, anyway, good job with the game!

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:32pm

I enjoyed it a lot! But as @AdventureIsland says it broke on wave 9/9 (:'<) Nevertheless, the graphics are neat, the game is fun, and I'm happy to have played it!

vrav says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:39am

Micromanagement at its finest! Great job, had a lot of fun. Beat it on the second or third attempt. The old orc with the moustache is pretty funny, too.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:19am

Awesome! Presentation is fantastic, way to go!!! Top marks on everything

Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:20am

Also: I love it that there were female heroes in the game, most people forget about that. Thanks!!!

Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:56am

Fun. Polished. Enjoyed it.

wzl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:20pm

Thats a nice game. I chuckled when mario came to save the princess :D
The pathing seems broken and the unit interaction seems to bug out more often than not. I'd love to see more gameplay variety, like laying traps or building mazes, maybe creating more units. PostCompo version? :D
Also I love the telly overlay.

Minireview: http://ldmr.wzl.vg/#emveyh

monomanio says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:18pm

Amazing art!

emveyh says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:33pm

@wzl Defenitely wanted to implement traps and barricades. Had to cancel that feature because of time issues ;(

h8urf8 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:02pm

Fun game to play!
Was pretty astonishing to see you coding this, next to me.
Hope we can do this again!

Ludonaut says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:13pm

Good idea, well executed. Love the atmosphere.

Niavlys says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:40pm

It turned out to be challenging and fun, I liked it! I had to use the pinky in order to click the right place (I'm playing on Android), though, but I'll try again with a stylus :)

Niavlys says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:41pm

(not sure stylus is the correct word, but I hope you see what I mean

Niavlys says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:43pm

)
Great audio and graphics too!
Sorry for the triple comment.

caranha says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:39pm

This game is incredibly fun! I loved it!

The graphics are simple and to the point, they work very well. It would be interesting if there was some indication of what upgrades a minion had. Or are the upgrades applied to all minions? After a while I lost track of which minion had which upgrade.

The movement is very smooth. Although I found some bugs: once two of my minions got stuck and wouldn't move. Other times the minions or enemies would jerk around.

The music works very well! It could get boring if the game was longer, but it was the right length. The ending screens are also OK.

Loved the little cameos of the enemies.

Thanks for recommending this game to me :-D

caranha says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:41pm

Oh, one extra comment - you should name your .jar file something other than LD25.jar! Imagine if everyone tried to use the same name? ;-) Name it "yourgamename.jar" or something instead :-)

Cheers,

emveyh says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:06pm

@Niavlys Yeah, it's not really optimized for phonescreens, the tiles are a bit too small. Also, the filters won't work :)

emveyh says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:09pm

@caranha thanks for the long comment :) You're right, there should be a visual feedback about the stats of your minions, but only 48 hours ;( And yeah, i should probably rename the file. Thanks for playing :)

lekochen says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:48pm

Decent pixel art, great music with well-polished game balance. Very enjoyable, love it.

Xavier says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:10pm

Good job! nice graphics and music background.

Deril says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:39am

Nice art! Did you draw it yourself? or just painted over oryx sprites?

emveyh says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 11:30am

@Deril of course i've drawn them by myself. I know that they look like the oryx ones, but that was not really intentional. I wanted to use 16x16 sprites, but since they take more time to draw, I've decided to go for 8x8 sprites. I'll upload the timelapse within the next few days, so you can see that i have NOT painted over the oryx sprites or something like that.

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 11:47am

Very good entry was lot of fun to play :)

Looking forward a post compo version :D

Hatscat says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:29pm

Nice! well done

Deril says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:47pm

Cool! I cant really draw... and making compelling game with squares is quite challenging...
Your game play is nice too.
Good job!

kibertoad says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 5:32pm

Solid entry, enjoyed playing it, even though it didn't have any special twists.

Dec 24, 2012 @ 8:10pm

This was pretty fun on my Transformer Prime. :) It did crash at about wave 8, and it started losing track of who I had touched, but it was still a fun game.

Falkreon says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 1:59am

One of my minions got hit with the knockback effect, which pushed him *through* the princess, and he got stuck on the opposite side. After that I could select him but not move him. Controls are tight, just needs one or two bugfixes to round out this delightful and hilarious game.

Dec 27, 2012 @ 5:17pm

A superb entry! Really strong presentation style, absolutely love the big pixels and filter effects. The retro style and pop culture references really sell the game. The controls are slick and the realtime nature creates some interesting dynamics. Some compelling reason to move away from the centre a bit more would have been good .. perhaps some alternative weapons etc, but tbh the amount of content and polish for 48h is extremely impressive as is.

emveyh says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 8:59pm

The timelapse is now available: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HSN4f8pHdpk . Thank you for playing :)

saampahlavan says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 10:17pm

pretty nice. like the screen effect over the game

csanyk says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 6:59am

Very Zeldesque:) I liked it.

Gornova says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 10:18pm

really nice atmosphere, well done in average!

KevinWorkman says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 4:41am

I really liked this game! Pretty perfect: good visuals, well balanced, and actually fun to play. Great job. It wouldn't surprise me to see you on the leaderboards.

By they way, if you're looking for a better host than dropbox, you might check out the free Java hosting I offer at http://StaticVoidGames.com. We just added Android support too!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]