December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Inverseteroids

by gigimoi00 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Uses SFML.Net 2.0 RC, Can be built for Mac or Linux(I believe), but I do not have either available.

When released, there was a missing file, this has been fixed.

When the screen turns black, you were killed, I did not add a "You Lose" screen.

2-Player Game. AI and networking support may come later.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#142Innovation3.39
#320Audio2.55
#323Graphics3.04
#504Fun2.55
#517Mood2.50
#524Humor2.07
#555Overall2.65
#651Theme2.42

Comments

Ramuh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:52pm

Not working on Win8

spacechase0 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:54pm

Hmm... It won't run for me either. I'm getting an error about it not being able to find "CultLib ...".

jerrre says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:58pm

won't run on windows 7

SunnyCode says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:58pm

Cant play, Game crashed!

System.IO.FileNotFoundException: CultLib

Neonlare says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:11pm

Game doesn't seem to boot up on Windows 7 :(.

gigimoi00 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:11pm

Oops, I forgot to include a dll. It's working now.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:00pm

Managed to run it, but I think you really need an AI for reaching full potential. Great graphical style though, Really liked it.

gigimoi00 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:06pm

I'm hoping to turn it into a full (Open Source) game and including AI after Ludum Dare.

filtoid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:58pm

I like this game a lot - but it's difficult to play as there is only one of me - although not impossible - it would be good as a multiplayer network game where you took turns to play each part. It did a weird thing when I died too - just blacked out. Good job though :) - Ran on Win 8 just fine for me. Do you need to "Run as admin"?

Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:58pm

Really needs AI

kewry says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:59pm

I wish you did not have to control the ship

Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:00pm

sometimes the smallest rock dont crash when hit
i dont get it - isnt it to easy to throw rock direct on gun and shoot it?
sometimes screen becomes black during game

gigimoi00 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:02pm

filtoid: No, I didn't get a chance to add an ending screen :P. I've never done anything network-y before, but maybe I'll give it a try.

Thanks.

kevincorrigan says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:36am

Nice, the graphics are nice and the audio is nice, but I think this would be funner if it was only the one player(Launching asteroids).

csanyk says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:41am

Had a hard time playing a 2P game by myself, but it is a fun concept. One criticism, I didn't think the music fit the game at all. Also, I don't think this fits the theme too well -- maybe if you only controlled the asteroids rather than both sides.

fussycashew says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:51am

Pretty fun! I played myself and lost :(

gigimoi00 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:57am

csanyk: Yeah, I can only do acoustic music.

heloheu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:29am

Great concept, I player with my boyfriend and it was really fun!!! I wish the spaceship could be a bit faster >.<

heloheu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:25am

Also, please continue developing this game, I would love to see a post-jam version :)

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:22pm

Though you didn't implemented the AI part -- I think it also opens up a new idea though. Because asymmetric gameplay in this kind of small scale 2P games is actually quite rare I think.

Joozey says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:21pm

Original concept! I like that. Ending/restart panel would have been nice as well as an AI, as mentioned here before. Good gametype choice, just complicated enough for 48 hours.

gigimoi00 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:13pm

arch.jslin: It's only rare because it's poor design. Originally this game was intended to be single player only, and I only added controls to the ship for testing purposes.

Joozey: Think I can get away with updating it to have an ending screen? :P

Thanks!

farmergnome says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:09am

Definitely needs AI :) Has promise though.

Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:45am

I feel like it would be more fair if I had two players on hand, so all I can do is play one hand against the other. Would be great if the only thing you controlled were the asteroids, I think.

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Can't run on WinXP, I fear this may be a 64-bit app and XP is 32..

gigimoi00 says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 7:09pm

zenmumbler: Just tested on WinXP, no issues. Any other information you can give me?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]