Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Dr. Villano - DaviDeMo - Jam Entry

Dr. Villano. Classic shooter game.
Destroy the world if you can...

If you want to use other screen resolution open settings.ini.

Game, Graphic, Sound and server for scoreboard made in 72h in C++ using ALLEGRO 5.0.8.

Coder: Davide Moriello
Artist / Sound: Daniel Hafner


Thank you all for playing, just hope it can give you fun!
Ah, and Goats!

View DaviDeMo's journal. | View all entries by DaviDeMo

Ratings

Coolness100%
#12Fun(Jam)3.84
#19Theme(Jam)4.09
#20Overall(Jam)3.84
#33Audio(Jam)3.65
#41Mood(Jam)3.53
#46Graphics(Jam)4.09
#63Humor(Jam)3.23
#209Innovation(Jam)2.64

Comments

LPGhatguy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:49pm

This is one of the few games I've played so far where I actually feel like a terrifying villain! The screams got a little earpinging after a bit, but the music was nice.
Also, wonderful addition of goats!

aprilia_moon says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:19am

Nice game!

Jesse Freeman says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:51am

Loved the graphics, gameplay is a little repetitive but it was fun to play for a few rounds. Wish I had more control over what I shot like buildings, people and aiming specifically at the object I want to shoot. I can hang out in a corner, click really fast at the other side of the screen and hold me own for some time. Great job!

Sos says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:48am

I absolutely love everything about this game!

BenW says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:58am

This was really fun. I wish the enemy shots were a bit more varied though.

surpy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:13am

This was a very fun game! I really enjoyed it. It was one of the best games I played for LD 25.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:02pm

Awesome! Wow the music and graphics were great! Impressive amount of content too!

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:04pm

Nicely done; one of the few games that really makes you feel like just being a evil person ("You are a Bastard" was another really good one). Very solid and well polished game. I had come difficulty controlling (playing on a touchpad), and would really love dual analog control, but not a big deal for a game made over the weekend.

schnerble says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:12am

Great fun! It's a very traditional villain setting, but the first one I played that gave me a simple direct way to destroy things :) I noticed a couple of tiny little graphical bugs, but otherwise it's very polished - great work!

Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:56pm

Solid entry, good graphics and the bgm was the best one I've heard so far!
Online scores were a nice addition, too.

dansludumdare says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:06pm

I found it pretty hard. Or at least, I died fast.

Nice polish.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:34pm

This is SO fun! I too have to comment, it really makes you feel like an invader. The epicness of it!
Congrats! Top marks from me

DaviDeMo says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:45pm

Thank you all you guys for the nice words. It really help us =)

If you have any feedback, maybe we will work on an android port to make very fast.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:49pm

Can't play windows games. :-(

feili says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:52pm

Nice entry! completely in the theme!

DaviDeMo says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:55pm

@Rex Peppers: I'm building the linux version tomorrow if everything goes right =)

Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:50am

Ha! 50040 pts and first place! Amazing game

olkeencole says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:06pm

Wow, this is great (I had a ton of fun)! I agree that the screams are loud, but the audio added a really nice touch to this game!

goulding57 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:22pm

Game sounds fun, and judging by the comments, probably is. I can't play windows games. Good luck though!

Darkfrost says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:22pm

noiceeeeeee, feeels very very good

FrederickK says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:37pm

Great game!

Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:09pm

Really loved the graphics. The gameplay is intense. Good job, man!

youdonotexist says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:13pm

I'll be keeping an eye out for a Mac build of this game.

Skye says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:35pm

Very fun. I like the screams! Mwahahah!

impulse9 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:50pm

Great! Very cute music and graphics, and the gameplay was solid. My favorite game so far. :)

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:02am

Very nice! The graphics were good, the music was good enough, and the gameplay was nice and crisp. You even managed to get an online multiplayer score system going! The destruction almost reminds me of my entry as well, I loved it, muahaha. Good job.

saguaro says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:04am

Very solid entry, and scoring too. Lots of screaming. (And are those BABIES crawling on the road?? You villain!)

ddionisio says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:17am

Nicely made, very complete! The game is also challenging.

caranha says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:37pm

I really like the sound effects and music of this game. The pixel work is very nice too. The player's spaceship felt a bit out of place when compared to the other sprites, for some reason.

One big complaint about this game is that we need to keep pressing mouse button to shoot. This hurts the hand and eventually gets people tired of playing, so maybe you should consider letting the player hold down the button to fire continuously.

It would be really cool if the cars could collide between themselves.

Carduus says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:53pm

Simple, great, fun, good-looking game, thanks for this game mate!

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:10pm

It's pretty good !

char68 says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:50pm

I love the interactions with the environment, and controls seemed responsive. The only issue was that after firing a few shots rapidly I wouldn't be able to fire for a while (maybe 10 seconds). If that was done on purpose perhaps there should be a more obvious indicator of overheating?

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:18pm

Great! My favorite are the graphics, but the music and sound are quite good too. I only wish I didn't have to keep clicking the mouse in order to keep shooting. It's bad for the RSI!

Faust says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:12am

Nice invasion game.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:33pm

nice!

fishbrain says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:23am

Nice. Simple. Destructive! :)
Great job! Excellent graphic style!

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 3:38pm

"Villainism" right to the point :)

Pierrec says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 2:19pm

I'm not much into shooters, but I have to confess this game is really fun, and very impressive overall. Everything is just right! Graphics, Audio, Fun...
It might not be very innovative, but who cares when it's perfectly done ?!

AdricZero says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 2:03pm

I really liked the retro graphics and arcade gameplay. My only complaint is after getting killed (really easy for me), from the time the name input box appears to playing again was unbearably slow on my system. After entering the name the game appeared to lock, then went back to start screen, then loading, then game start. Maybe it was system specific, but that prevented me from playing more than I would have liked to have played.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]