December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

In good heart

by pighead10 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Ports may or may not be coming.

===

Level 3: if you lose when you think you have won, (without giving too much away) you probably pushed it to cause the 'victory' yourself, which signifies to the overlord that you are immediately a traitor.

Everything explained in game!

It may seem confusing! Read the level 1 tutorial (under 'help' on the menu) very carefully, as it explains everything you need to do to complete that level and how the game works in general. It's intended to be partially a puzzle game, so no tutorials for the other levels.

===

If you died and you don't know why, one of these happened:
-The suspicion bar grew to maximum
-You died
-You killed the player (big blue thing)
-You did something which signified immediate treachery (such as blowing up the person you need to protect)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#71Innovation3.69
#221Audio2.88
#271Theme3.43
#302Fun2.97
#371Overall2.97
#386Humor2.46
#409Mood2.70
#507Graphics2.57

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:50pm

I failed each level at least 10 times, thanks for making them all available a start.
It is very difficult to make blue thingies to do what I want them to do without dying or angering the evil boss.

SmallDeadGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:52pm

Difficult. Kinda confusing. Pretty fun. He kept raging at me :( Stopping your evil overlord doesn't make you see like the villian, so theme-- unfortunately. Graphics are nice, quite funny too. Good job!

pighead10 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:06pm

lanoiadimuu: did you complete them in the end?

Sanguine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:18pm

Really cool concept. The music is also great! But it is a bit difficult ;)

Norgg says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:44pm

Took me a while to figure out what was going on (had to go read the instructions, but managed not to have to resort to the playthrough) but was pretty interesting once I'd figured it out, enough that I completed all 3 levels anyway.

I think if you labelled the bars ingame somehow and let the player know why they'd got game over it'd make it possible to learn to win without having to give up and read the instructions.

fr_automatik says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:19pm

Difficult, but fun :) . The concept was neat. The background art could be improved (But the characters are fine) . Also, putting in the "game over" screen why the player failed would be a good idea !

supermaximo93 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:43pm

Nice concept, but really difficult!

cardboard says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:44pm

For some reason after beating the third level it said I failed. Fun game. I really hate the stupid overlord getting on my case when I try to just do my job (poorly). Cool concept and nicely executed.

Udrian says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:33am

Funny game! I liked the idea and you executed it very well. I thought the difficulty where just perfect.

Well done!

emveyh says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:33pm

Difficult and kinda confusing but fun :D Nice concept :)

ChainedLupine says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:33pm

Yeah, I agree with the confusing comments. It was also difficult to get the enemies/good guys to do what I wanted them to do.

vrav says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:46pm

Very nice idea, felt good to be the villain. This concept is a real winner.

HeXoT says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:41pm

A bit hard to understand at first but it become very fun.

Neonlare says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:52pm

Definitely a good play, enjoyed the innovation on this but the sounds got really really jarring at points. Awesome stuff! :D

Ludonaut says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:45pm

A bit confusing at first but very cool concept. I like it. :)

Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:53pm

Interesting gameplay, but not intuitive. Many typos in the instructions, and the formatting made understanding them difficult.

pighead10 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:31pm

Typos in the instructions? This will not do! Maybe I should write them earlier than 1.30am

pighead10 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:38pm

Having carefully looked, I cannot find any typos in the instructions!

Vic says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:39pm

I like the concept, and completed the levels :). There is quite some randomness to the events, like the "enemies" killing each other, or refusing to shoot. With some polish you can make a really fun puzzle game with this!

AtkinsSJ says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:43pm

I like the idea a lot. :D However, it's so hard! I managed the first level, but while I could figure out what to do in the others, managing it was difficult. Still, I'd like to see what you could do with this idea given more time. :)

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:49pm

Quite fun once understood, so I feel obliged to rate high. However, you need MUCH better conveyance if you want the average player to be able to get into it the way you want.

EatenAlive3 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:31pm

I couldn't figure out the mechanics unfortunately. I managed to kind of get it, but after 10 minutes, and still I can't get it to work right. Next game, make it more simple! :S

kannas says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:54pm

very cool concept and very fun, aven if difficult :P

31eee384 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:09pm

Like your take on the theme! Very confusing, though, even with the in-game help. I was victim multiple times to a bug where if I hold down the mouse a little too long when selecting a level, the boss would say "are you trying to miss them?" instead of the objective. The graphics were also kind of misleading in some cases: like that the TNT in level 2 explodes when touched, but in level 3 you (and enemies) can push it. With a more gradual ramp in difficulty (tutorial levels?) and more consistency between levels, though, this game could be pretty neat.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:59pm

Very creative idea to play a kind of double agent. I won level 1 and 2 but the last one is too difficult for me, because I get shot down. Moving the TNT through the room feels a bit "rough".

Next time, you should try to guide the player by playing instead of giving him text to read. A mistake, which I always do, too :)

D3zmodos says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:07pm

Villain being villainous towards other villains...Cool idea! Quite hard though :P

h.attila says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 2:32pm

It was way too hard, there are too many ways to lose.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]