December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

HenchManager

by Maato - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Windows / 64bit linux / source will be added later.

You are a master criminal in possession of a nuclear device. The information got out that you have it, so now the good guys are trying to get it back. You decide to detonate it from a remote location. All that remains is managing your stupid henchman so they can fend of the good guys for long enough.

Some notes:
- The good guys enter through certain doors every 10 seconds.
- You have 10 seconds to prepare before the first one.
- Some of your henchman (the blue ones) are technicians who can repair broken doors.
- If you lose health there are some medpaks around that you can use.

Controls:
- Drag a square over the henchman you want to control.
- Click on an object to have a henchman interact with it.
- WASD to control a single henchman at a time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#329Audio2.53
#439Graphics2.76
#476Theme2.94
#505Mood2.53
#523Overall2.71
#548Innovation2.47
#640Fun2.18
#681Humor1.54
#990Coolness28%

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:44pm

i will come back to rate this game when you add win or web version

awppy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:08pm

Played the web version. Controls were a tad frustrating and could use some polish, but the concept was nice, if a bit thin in action sometimes. Cameras were a nice aesthetic touch

joyboxed says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:13pm

can only agree with previous guy, controls felt a bit weird but you got a nice concept =) keep it up

bwdevel says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:29pm

Passing on rating the game. If it's in your power, please don't target one specific browser. I understand that the browser manufacturers are being proprietary jerks, but it is possible to develop for more than one browser.

Maato says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:36pm

In this case it is not really possible, the game was programmed in C++ and was ported to the browser using Native Client which is a chrome only technology. If it was made using html5 I can imagine your objection, but in this case it should not apply.

Starspell says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:37pm

Nice concept but way too easy. I just got everyone in the building together and sat them all in front of the closest outside door and gunned anything down that came in.

The graphics and sounds were pretty nice but it was all a little bit too slow-paced.

Oh and a couple of times my guys got confused about going through a door and got stuck on the walls.

But you should definitely take this and polish it up some more, it could turn out really nice!

Remblej says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:59am

Who tell me, how run game like this at linux(ubuntu)?

Remblej says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:00am

Who tell me how run game like this at linux(ubuntu) ?

jamesca says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:28pm

Good effort on doing a game in C++ I know how much a PITA that language can be having written software in it for 10 years, but I am not sure about running native C++ code in Chrome from a security point of view. It increases the attack surface of your browser a lot.

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:26am

I liked this idea. It was fun trying to manically keep the heroes from penetrating the base, and I had limited success (mostly by dodging their shots, keeping them preoccupied with trying to kill me). But I found it hard to get my characters to do the stuff I wanted them to... they were usually deadweight. Maybe I just missed something about the controls?

Sergey Mohov says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 3:18pm

For some reason it reminded me of FTL. Also, How did you add it to the Chrome store? Really curious.

MortalWombat says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Solid game!

Controls didn't feel very good to me.

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 6:23pm

I didn't have trouble with the controls, like some people here did, but I think that the level design needs improving, because there isn't much (that I could find) to actually stop them. Is it really just opening and closing doors and moving around dodging bullets? I think this game is really cool, you just have to work on the design so that there's more of an engagement with the player!

Cool effort, though!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]