December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Thief

by delpes - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a thief who is running from the cops to the escape vehicle. But your buddy will only take you along if you bring enough money. You can pick up Donuts and throw them at the cop to slow him down.
The more you carry the slower you are able to run!


Note:
- Volume Warning - Sounds are not normalized
- [M] turns of the Music.
- Controls are in [About] (in-game) or on the Webpage

Controls:
Movement: WASD or Arrow Keys
Steal: CTRL
Throw Donuts: ENTER

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness99%
#119Humor3.31
#271Theme3.43
#291Audio2.63
#297Fun2.98
#334Overall3.04
#379Mood2.75
#419Innovation2.73
#423Graphics2.80

Comments

HardScore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:03pm

Funny as hell

Spierek says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:11pm

Really funny, loving the idea of stopping cops by throwing donuts. But, to be honest, the levels could be smaller, or you could automatically win by collecting the necessary money - in the first level I managed to get about 1000$ before reaching the car, and it took quite a lot of time (growing weight didn't help either).

Jiyko says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:12pm

Dat voice over

zompi says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:13pm

Idea is great, policeman eating donuts is cute (nom nom nom), but others sounds.. my ears, they are bleeding! But in overall it's good and funny game.

delpes says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:15pm

Thank you for the feedback. Your points are very valid. Time ran out so i just put in some numbers for level length and stuff. Lesson learned for next LD: level design > graphics ;)

Madball says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:17pm

OMNOMNOM! This cop has a bottomless stomach.

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:45pm

such great audio and humor, fantastic job!

Lashiz121 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:01pm

Great game like the idea just a little bit slow paste

Manest says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:51pm

great audio :)

Mythalore says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:46pm

Good graphics, but it's rather hard to out run the policeman.

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:18pm

Very nice music! But the grandma sound is too loud to the point of making me spare them and attack only the guy =D. Simple and fun! congrats.

angrygeometry says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:32pm

a fun little game. nice idea and executed well. really appreciate the foley sounds, but some of the sound effects were really shrill/loud (specifically the 'oh no' and 'you got busted' sound effects) and that a bit of a problem. other then that, cool game.

strong99 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:09pm

I like the audio and the donut throwing, nice game :)

mutuware says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:02pm

I give you the best audio award!

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:33pm

I lost an ear at the first level, but the gameplay was good and it was fun !

Rialgar says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:15pm

Nice game, very entertaining, some recomendations:
1. give the player some hint about how far away the car is, like a progress bar or just a percentage display
2. use noise filtering when recording sounds near to your computer, the noise of your fan is a bit annoying (audacity can do this)

rvmook says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:40pm

Nice little game, love the sprites. It would nice if you could drop some of your loot when the cop almost catches you.

someone says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:14pm

Haha, that was great.

Cabral says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:28pm

I really like it! It's a lot of fun, pretty to look at and generally solid. There's a couple of specific things I'd like to point how, though:

- The woman's screaming sound is way too loud and becomes annoying.
- In the last level, I robbed every single person I came across and still didn't have enough money at the end. On my third try I won, but you should be careful not to have the level be impossible.
- If your game uses the keyboard, then so should the menu.
- I saw people walking around outside of the level, which looked a tad weird, but I'm just nitpicking at this point.

I had a lot of fun with it! The game could definitely be expanded with more mechanics post-comp, but I'm glad you didn't add any more levels, as it would become pretty boring soon enough. Great job!

FrederickK says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:48pm

You could always throw the donut backward, but I think it is an extra challenge. Awesome job!

Jacic says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 5:49am

Fun idea. :)

MortalWombat says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Mhmm, nom, nom, nom! Lovely!

ddionisio says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 10:32am

Great voice-overs! Though I agree that some of them are too loud. The game felt too easy, I can pretty much throw a doughnut towards the cop offscreen indefinitely. Maybe if he moves up and down in some random intervals. The level progression didn't seem to increase the difficulty. Overall a fun game, there's a lot of personality in the graphics and voice.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]