Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Super Generic Princess Saver - Robotic - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Why do villains capture princesses ? Why do we "save" them back ? My game orbits around this idea: Are villains conscious of what they're really doing ?

I express it quite awkwardly with flashing screens, but give it a try :)

Keys : Space + Directions

View Robotic's journal. | View all entries by Robotic

Ratings

Coolness81%
#6Graphics4.54
#9Mood4.05
#12Overall4.05
#35Theme4.05
#44Audio3.56
#52Humor3.65
#94Fun3.46
#104Innovation3.54

Comments

Ditto says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:56am

Holy shit this was fantastic! Introscreen is effin' beautiful, sprites are super crisp, presentation is phenomenal! Truly great work!

feili says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:41am

Awesome game! give you awesome rate!

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:17pm

Fantastic Game I loved it awesome graphics and the monsters were funny >.< I like it all.

master4523 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:15pm

The title screen was amazing. The game has some good graphics and sfx. I liked the hero upgrading system. The theme could have been highlighted a little more. Overall, that was a great fast-paced action game with a polished look. Good job!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:44pm

Looks great and great idea, but controls are sometimes a bit clumsy. For example, when you swing the sword you will stay still, but that takes a bit too long I think

Gib says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:00am

That was effing great :D Agreed that the controls need more tweaking, like maybe allowing you to keep moving while swinging your sword.

I want to upgrade my knight/monster and keep playing further, but this is haaaard >_<

Great great game though. The art is pretty cool, and loved the plot.

hadesfury says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:10pm

Cool graphics indeed !
A bit hard to hit enemies <hen they're close to the castle as it's the same key to attack and 'cuddle'.
The message in itself could be more subtle too, haha !
Good job !

caribou says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:00pm

I didn't get how to upgrade at first, but then i started to enjoy it, nice art !

Maristak says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:05pm

This game was efin beautifull. I just have no words I could say. Awesome job

Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:29pm

I really liked the concept and the graphics! My one problem with the game is that because your attack launches you forward it can be very hard to actually attack the enemies, and since you can't attack while you're in the cuddle zone defending your castle is very difficult.

Eniko says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:26pm

Great graphics, sound, presentation, and especially a cool and disturbing view of the theme. Really great job. Only niggles are that cuddling takes too long (never thought I'd say that sentence :P) and it's hard to hit monsters that are beating on your castle.

sclark39 says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:30pm

Really great graphics and effects. Intro screen was awesome. I liked the flashes to you being the villain, but it really threw me off while trying to defend the castle.

Mista Koo says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 5:56pm

Awesome concept. The sprites and the intro are great too.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 12:35pm

Excellent! Well done!... Superb graphics and sprites.

lotusgame says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 3:08pm

A wonderfull game again :) You rock man !!

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Art is nice, the monsters close in quickly and the faux-3D collision is funky and I can't walk while hitting so nothing much happens and then I die.

Worse says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Amazing work. The idea that saving is basically recapturing, so that heroes are very much like villains is brilliant.

Jan 5, 2013 @ 7:31pm

very nice game! one thing i would change is alternate mode to last longer. congrats!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]