December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Evil Wall

by Zaszx - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first ludum dare entry, it may not be the best game in the world :) but it is something.
Controls with arrow keys or WASD, and space. Try to block the good guys' ways to help the bad guy catch them!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#192Innovation3.24
#398Theme3.14
#461Fun2.64
#542Overall2.68
#581Audio1.36
#649Humor1.70
#701Graphics1.93
#709Mood1.91

Comments

caranha says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:10pm

Although simple, I loved this game. I think this is a great first entry on LD. I got 25 points on my first play through.

I really like the idea you came up with. It is original and fun. Movement was really smooth, and the "wall-enemy" transition was nice. The game keeps score, which always improve the fun, and I liked that the good guy counter changed color.

Some suggestions:
* Sounds would make a world of difference in this game. Try to use the "bfxr" program, which is available online, to make sounds!

* You should leave a "play area" somewhere, so that the counter and the score do not block the view of your game.

* You should write in your journal/blog! Half the fun of ludum dare is sharing the development process with other people.

Thanks for the game, and I hope to see you again next LD!

Biped says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:22pm

A great first attempt. Welcome to the ranks.

yokcos700 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:31pm

I love this game. Well done!
The movement was smooth and well made, and the concept is very original. Although, the AI did seem a bit dim at times.
Also, is the game meant to freeze when I reduce the Good Guy count to 0? Because I did that and it did.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:42pm

Nice start!

Zaszx says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:56pm

Thanks for your comments!

@yokcos700: Normally the game needed to create one more good guy at a random place when all good guys were dead, but I just realised that I forgot to add that to the code :P So yes, the game crashes when all good guys are dead.

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:58pm

I like the idea a lot, but I'm not sure I like the level design, exactly. I think it should have multiple levels, where perhaps you can easily beat one level, and continue up the ladder as you play.

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:21pm

Really good first attempt - hope you'll join the next!
A nice concept, but it'd be cool if you had more control over the outcome - either reducing the number of paths or increasing the number of bad guys (different levels would be good).

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:45am

Simple Idea made me feel evil!

caranha says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:23am

WOW, I just wanted to add an extra comment. WiseGAMER is right, this simple game made me FEEL evil, by blocking the escape routes.

loren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:40pm

Pretty cool, that was a neat mechanic. Very unique!

DST says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:24am

Very very nice first entry, I also did my first entry, and yours are by far much more fun to play.

gameXcore says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:51am

Good idea, some notes:
- I couldn't seem to get the bad guy to catch anyone, I would be herding them toward him then he would change direction.

- If I'm a ghost, why can't I walk through walls?

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:21pm

Nice concept and welcome to LD, we're happy to have you!

Dec 25, 2012 @ 4:30pm

Fun idea! Also good use of pathinding.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]