December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

A.F.M.K.R.O.

by Homletmoo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

=x=x=x= AIR FLYING MACHINE KILLER ROBOT OBJECTS =x=x=x=

PHEW. I hope I'm finished with this.

So basically, this is a shmup where you play the enemy fleet. More information on the game can be found on the web link.

Tools used:

- FlashDevelop
- GIMP
- FileZilla
- bfxr
- freac
- Notepad++
- Ableton Live Lite
- PicPick
- iOS Reminders
- Chronolapse (timelapse coming soon)
- Kettle + cheap instant coffee

Resources used:

- Flex SDK
- FlashPunk (ftw)
- Ableton instrument and drum racks (software instruments)
- Some of all the colours of the rainbow

Sorry, but there are no goats.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#46Theme4.00
#104Innovation3.54
#116Audio3.23
#124Overall3.48
#154Graphics3.56
#186Fun3.22
#335Mood2.83
#597Humor1.89

Comments

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:26pm

I like the reverse topdown shooter feel, pretty cool idea. Nice art too!

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:59pm

Intuitive controls, enjoyable gameplay and reasonable difficulty.

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:07pm

The separation of the screen for moving/shooting is a pretty neat idea. It could easily be transpose on mobile platform.

Homletmoo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:13pm

@loren: Thanks! I've wanted to code a shmup for a while, LD helped with motivation.

@xgeovanni: I'm glad you think so; the difficulty system was something of an afterthought.

@Colapsydo: Originally, I intended to have right click = move and left click = shoot, but then Flash -_-. As for mobile platforms, I was thinking the same thing. I may rewrite it in Haxe if I have time.

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:28am

Cool game! I love the split-screen control concept!

Bemmu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:54am

Took a moment to realize you can both move around AND shoot, but the idea of being the enemy in this type of game was interesting.

rylgh says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:03am

Very interesting control scheme!

haxpor says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:58pm

Really nice graphics and nice work on moving cloud and atmosphere creation! Interesting for control in moving and shooting.

Joncom says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:48am

Great idea with reversing sides. Great graphics too. Did you make the music? I like how complete this game is. It's pretty well rounded, given the time constraints, and you weren't even in the jam! Good work.

dek says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:02am

Good art and audio. Interesting and new gameplay. The mouse was a bit laggy for me, sadly.

Homletmoo says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:05pm

@Joncom: I did make the music! If you can call it music, that is. I gave myself about 30-40 minutes for it, so I didn't expect anything brilliant.

Alink says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:42am

Innovative interface and great style.

TyrusPeace says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:50am

Nice! There were a couple different shmups I played so far that I initially hoped had this gameplay idea, but you're the first I've seen actually do it.

Good, simple implementation. A bit clunky to control, but it translates to something that's pretty close to the movement style of shmup enemies in the end. I like it!

Good graphics and music, too :).

lotusgame says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 11:24am

Nice try ! I didn't figure out a good strategy to win but i had fun in hard level. It could be interesting to integrate several ships to buy.

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 6:14am

Nice! I think you could definitely expand on this.

Your control scheme is really cool. And it works surprisingly well.

We had similar ideas, and I actually almost went with making a shmup like yours, but decided to focus on the boss instead. I didn't have enough time to develop it as I wanted, but take a look at it if you want: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-25/?action=preview&uid=12119

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]