December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

AI Rampage

by FacticiusVir - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a Silverlight 5, Out-of-Browser (update: now also Windows desktop!) game in which you (as the villain) are an AI that has gone quite mad, and starts killing all the crew on the space station that it oversees.

There's a tutorial to explain the gameplay, but in quick summary - left click to select, right click to give orders, WASD to scroll. Don't get spotted murdering people or doing anything suspicious, or the crew will shut you down. In Windows, hit Esc to exit.

Enjoy!

(Please note - the path finding is a bit slow over long distances, so if you click further that 7-8 squares away, especially near the end, the game might take a minute to work out the path)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#145Innovation3.38
#151Theme3.70
#183Mood3.15
#274Fun3.04
#286Humor2.75
#288Overall3.13
#597Graphics2.29
#694Coolness48%

Comments

goerp says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:04pm

any chance of a port to anything else? I don't want to install sliverlight on my let alone another program

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:07pm

Very cool game :) Despite silverlight being a bit of a pain to install for me, was definetely worth it. Keep it up, man

jerrre says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:10pm

Lots and lots of unskippable text
overal nice tho'

FacticiusVir says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:12pm

Could probably port to XNA, though that means installing XNA instead ;)

HardScore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:27pm

a well done game :)

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:28pm

There should be an option to skip the dialogue.

Felix20 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:01pm

Very nice, graphics were ok, gameplay was good the pathfinding was nice but I crashed it when I tryed to go from the airlock to the incinerator.
I'm glad I played again though because the ending was worth it, very nice theme integration. atmosphere was good, with music it would have been awesome.

alexlarioza says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:20pm

Liked the plot you had going on, but after making a mistake I had to restart and sit through the intro text again. :(

Razion says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:31am

The text is horrifyingly difficult to sit through. Consider adding a skip option in the future. Well done overall. Fun concept, fun to play.

Keevor says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:21am

I think the consequence for losing is a bit to high. Skip text would have been nice

Benjamin says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:24am

well the unskipable text really dissuaded me from playing a second time despite the fact I really wanted to explore the game further after my first death. The story telling was ok but you really need to make the text prompt faster and skipable for the people who already know it.

FacticiusVir says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:05am

Now ported to Windows, using Monogame!

Deykoweec says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:54pm

you should add a text skipping button

mcc says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:21am

all the dialogue made this unnecessarily slow-moving and the controls were kind awkward. otherwise, i liked the writing quite a bit and you had a good concept.

Deril says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:06pm

Very good game for patience training!

h.attila says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:00pm

I'm sorry, but I'm not gonna sit through several minutes of text every time someone sees me.

sclark39 says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:40pm

Didn't want to run an installer

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 2:42pm

I got the same crash going from airlock to incinerator, and the hours of unskipable text precluded another attempt at the game.
All in all, I'm pretty impressed with this. The unwilling villain is a very good interpretation. I could see this working as a very good game with more polish.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]