Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:
Sat, 01 Nov 2014 00:12:00 UTC

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014
Sat, 06 Dec 2014 01:00:00 UTC

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.


Ludum Dare 31:

Ludum Deals

???

 

Recent:

MiniLD #XX


Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Waldo - h.attila - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Waldo is a game about a contract killer.

At the beginning of each level you get to see your targets' appearance. After starting the stage, you have to find them in a crowd of people and shoot them. If you kill all of your targets, you get to the next level. The game is endless, the levels get progressively harder by introducing bigger crowds and more targets.
After you fire your first shot in a level, the police sets out to hunt you down. You have to finish the job before they find you, otherwise it's game over. Their progress is indicated by the progress bar on the top of the screen.

My goal this LD was to make the game as simple as possible, to make the coding easy, so that I can spend time on the graphics and sounds. I succeeded, I could practice my pixel skills a lot which means a lot to me, even if the time I wasted on drawing will lead to low scores due to the game's simplicity.
Fortunately - unlike last time - I had time to make some simple sound effects. I still can't make music, though.

To play this game, you will need a PC with Windows XP/Vista/7/8, a DirectX 9 GPU that supports Shader Model 2.0 and these frameworks:
- .NET 4.0:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=17851
- XNA 4.0:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914

Thanks for checking out my game!

View h.attila's journal. | View all entries by h.attila

Ratings

Coolness100%
#145Fun3.32
#186Theme3.61
#246Overall3.21
#247Innovation3.12
#351Humor2.58
#426Mood2.67
#507Graphics2.57
#512Audio1.87

Comments

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:35am

So wait... is this Waldo from Where's Waldo? That would explain a lot about his whereabouts in those books, actually.
The game is good fun. I only got to level 6 so I'll give it another go!

ddionisio says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:41am

The graphics gave me that windows 16 vibe, good times. Fun game.

Dr. Mo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:45am

Wow, it really is Waldo. Find Waldo! At level 9, I finally forgot what one of my targets looked like, and I was done. Great game! Could have used better audio, for sure, but every other part of this is nice!

tumoxep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:50am

Nice game.

aneeslol says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:53am

Very cool concept, and well designed! Reducing the accuracy after a shot balances it out nicely.

svenardo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:23am

Very funny twist on the "find Waldo" theme. Could do with a more beefy gun pointer (it's a bit too easy to miss) and better SFX, but overall quite fun!

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:16am

Hum, XNA games don't seem to work on my work computer. I'm gonna try this one out at home tonight~!

Faust says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:38am

Interesting game.

AtkinsSJ says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:47am

That awkward moment where you forget who your targets are...

Clever concept, and I like that you added some variety with the settings. :D

master4523 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:40am

I had fun playing Waldo. Got to level 12 or so, didn't find any bugs. Besides improved graphics and sounds, you could have added a scoring system (bonus points for headshots, kill while running, and penalty points for killing the wrong target). Overall it was a great little game.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:08pm

My favorite for the moment. Really great game, smart.

lando walters says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:34am

I really liked this entry, but the audio could have been better. nice job :D

Xavier says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:06pm

Damn! I can't play it! doesn't work for me (Win7 + NET 4.0). Any clue?

h.attila says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:13pm

@Xavier: It worked on both of my PCs, one of them is running Windows 7. Did you get any error message? Can you play any other XNA game? Maybe you can try reinstalling the frameworks (both .NET and XNA).

Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:19pm

Cool game! I like the idea a lot.

sev_inf says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:07pm

Cool idea and pretty good implmentation. Would be great game on mobile phones.

delpes says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:39pm

Level 14 :) Forgot my targets a few levels earlier and just shot at everyone. Fun game!

HeXoT says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:09pm

Despite forgetting targets is easy I guess that is the difficulty of the game.


Nice game :)

Saisaith says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:03am

lol such an interestingly enjoyable game!

Great work!

Toadpud says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:35am

The simplicity worked out fine.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:19am

Definately has a Ski free vibe to it. As a note, I found it possible to sit at the targets screen and wait for the targets to walk into view and identify them while still seeing my target. You may be better off if you hid the crowd until after the targets list has been closed and the level starts.

nathanj439 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:25am

Simple but lots of fun. Good idea and gameplay.

csanyk says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:59am

Pretty good. I liked the shooting mechanics, and the way the people on the street would scatter after a shot is fired. Some screaming sound effects might have helped sell the action a little bit, but overall this is pretty good!

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:28pm

Can't play games on windows :-(

calzoneman says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:10pm

I really like the idea of being a hitman. I like how the crowd scatters when you shoot. Very cool game.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:50pm

liked it, was challenging and well thought

Gazok says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:31am

Very cool, it's really satisfying in a very sick way. I like the various clothing designs.

metadept says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:08am

Nice game, I really like the concept. Three suggestions: hide the playing field while the targets are showing so that the player has to memorize them beforehand, add a severe penalty for shooting people who aren't the target, and give some kind of bonus for headshots.

jmaasing says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:38pm

Sorry, can't rate since I don't have windows.

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:41pm

Cute game. Quite fun to make civs "dance" by shooting either side of them :D

Jeremias says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:34pm

Very solid game! The things I like:

- People turn and it gets difficult to find them if you only see them from the side.
- People run if you miss them.
- Remembering the multiple accessoirs.
- The well balanced time for searching them.

What you could make better:

- Improve the graphics and audio (music).
- Make a penalty for spamming shots.

char68 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:43am

The name really fits the game, it was tough to remember who I was supposed to get (not sure if that's a good thing or a bad thing).

FrederickK says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:18am

Very well executed!
Nice job!

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:50pm

Interesting concept. I thought more than once to create a game which resembles this. :)

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:39pm

very good game ,fortunately too many innocent people had died
;)

lotusgame says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 6:07pm

Cool game ! I had fun ! Congrats :)

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 3:24am

The gameplay got a little boring for me personally, but the concept is nice. Well done.

AyCe says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 12:18am

Nice game from a simple idea. Got to level 9 :)

Spelchan says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 3:20am

Nice random people generator. Love the way people start fleeing when you start shooting. Would be nice to be able to bring up list of targets again, but I suppose memory is a factor to playing this game. Granted, one could always take a screenshot of the target screen and have that in another window while playing the game.

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 6:26pm

Overall a nice game. Got a bit repetitive after few levels but that's normal given the time constraint.

Like the fact that sometime you are not sure about the target because characters are similar.

Jan 6, 2013 @ 12:57pm

This is really good fun! Although on one playthrough the targets never turned to face me, although probably because they were the only ones left alive.....

Niavlys says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 7:11pm

I have to admit I didn't expected this to be really entertaining. The graphics are simple but the procedural generation (I suppose) of the people and targets works great! I love the fact that people are running around when there's a shot. There are great ideas in this game. Even though there doesn't seem to be a great mood here, I felt somehow dirty while playing this, as is I were a real villain.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]