December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Save The Princess

by DalsGames - Jam Entry

*WE RECOMMEND THE JAR INSTEAD OF THE APPLET AS IT CAN BE UNSTABLE*

Save The Princess
Should actually be named Do not let the heroes get to the Princess!
The games is basically a tower defence game where should play and survie as long as possible.
The story plot is as following, You are a EVIL Villain that has captured a beautfull princes and holds here prissoner in a cage. All the heroes around the world have gathered and are preparing to sige the Villian. You are the Villian, you should prevent the heroes from getting to the princess!
To do this you have four towers at your disposal. Use them wisely or else you will lose the prisoner!

Credits:
Programmers: David "Dals" Skeppstedt, Andreas "Pandy" Brommund
Art: Erik Tegevall, Victor Sundelin
Music: Victor Sundelin

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#159Audio(Jam)2.81
#196Fun(Jam)2.67
#256Overall(Jam)2.63
#264Humor(Jam)1.89
#276Mood(Jam)2.29
#291Theme(Jam)2.38
#307Graphics(Jam)2.04
#326Innovation(Jam)1.67
#711Coolness47%

Comments

Kuulog says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:44pm

Placing towers seems a bit tricky in this. It says in the instructions on the applet page you have to press "mouseleft" to place towers, but I can only place towers by right clicking, and not moving the mouse.

Justin Kibbe says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:45pm

Good start, but it crashed on me when the pink-hat looking mob came out.

FinalMirage says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:55pm

Couldn't figure out how to place towers until I realized it's Right Mouse instead of Left Mouse like the instructions mention. Also, when you buy the tower that costs 1500 it looks like the game crashes as soon as it shoots an enemy.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:53am

Nice soundtrack... no crashes for me but placing the towers required some mouse tricks...

Cyboot says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:52am

Unfortunatly it does not work on Linux (at least for me).
I will try it when i have access to a Windows-PC again :)

BTW: here is the stacktrace

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.IllegalStateException: Line must be open()ed before it can be start()ed
at org.classpath.icedtea.pulseaudio.PulseAudioDataLine.start(PulseAudioDataLine.java:345)
at org.classpath.icedtea.pulseaudio.PulseAudioClip.start(PulseAudioClip.java:528)
at se.dalsit.main.audio.SoundWav.play(SoundWav.java:54)
at se.dalsit.main.Game.initGame(Game.java:124)
at se.dalsit.main.Game.<init>(Game.java:79)
at se.dalsit.main.GameComponent.main(GameComponent.java:13)

Per says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:12pm

Pretty fun standard tower defence :)
I liked the music. The difficulty seems to be well balanced.

galman says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:50pm

Nice tower defence game! Really nice for one weekend :)

donmilham says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:56am

Solid tower defense game. The enemy units seemed to stack up quite a bit when spawning. I liked the mid wave power up shop.

Cyboot says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:20pm

Its working on Windows :) so I played it again.
Its a really solid and fun towerdefense. Surprisingly good balanced (quite an acomplishment in 48 Hour)#
Nice job all of you!

Dec 25, 2012 @ 10:55pm

Nice TD, but waaaaay too slow.

StMatn says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 12:34am

The music was pretty cool. Spamming basic towers went surprisingly well, until the applet crashed. It was fun to play, good work.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]