December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Shining Farce

by De10ter - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A VERY basic roguelike.
Didn't have time for sound or music and it's light on content too but I think it'll have life beyond the compo to allow me to add in some of the more adventurous/exciting ideas that didn't make it.
The most glaring (technical) issue I know of is the lack of line of sight blocking ranged attacks.
I'd also planned to have a much more interesting level/dungeon but alas time was against me.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#505Overall2.74
#571Graphics2.37
#614Theme2.56
#661Mood2.14
#681Fun2.05
#734Innovation1.84
#898Coolness36%

Comments

Prelucid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:50am

Cool, wish I could use hotkeys. :)

Cthu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:31pm

Yay, love roguelikes.

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:29am

I think I was trying to fireball my own minions. Looks cool, would be nice to see where it progresses to.

@De10ter: If you see this, I found out I am able to fix the game breaking bug in my game, and did so.

mrspeaker says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:20pm

Love the intro credits!

Suese says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:44pm

Shining Force was one of the greatest games of all time. The title lead me to believe it might be like that.

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:46pm

Nice little roguelike. :)

TheCze says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:05pm

Very nice. As with every proper Roguelike, I died almost instantenously.

Dec 27, 2012 @ 4:45pm

Nice and clear controls, liked the menu system - can see how extensible this is to future adventures etc. Some sfx and sounds would really jazz it up, but a solid system with all the requisite bits and bobs

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 10:46am

Well, that was quick. Indeed a bit light on the content, let us know when you've expanded on the levels, story, etc. Should take more than a few days, surely :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]