December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Feel To Be Me! Alien of Sace Invader

by Drabiter - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have been playing as the ship all the time, now it's aliens' turn to be played. Control their movement by

Accelerating/decelerating the speed, using left/right keys,

and reach bottom of screen to win. The amount of survivors is important for upgrading. Use SPACE to shoot.

Control:
Left-Right keys (accelerometer on android).
Space key (tap on android).
Mouse click (for upgrade menu).

Applet may appears in next days.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#143Theme3.72
#285Innovation3.04
#418Mood2.68
#465Overall2.80
#485Humor2.18
#494Fun2.56
#519Audio1.82
#543Graphics2.46
#694Coolness48%

Comments

DST says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:50pm

Very nice! I did find it confuzing to control, I do see the light, but two buttons "Fast" and "Slow" would have been a bit easier to control. That being said, great game, good idea!

jerrre says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:10pm

First play i got killed and the game freezed. Second time i killed the enemy but I had to wait before i was down. Idea is good tho'

Faust says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:11pm

Simple game and well done.

Drabiter says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:06am

@jerre: Sorry for the freeze, thanks for mentioning.

@Faust: thanks~

AyCe says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:02pm

Poor space invader aliens :( Now I truly know how they gotta feel. However, I was having some trouble shooting and moving at the same time (either I use my attention on incoming shots, I aim, or I just spam bullets and get killed). Nice game! :D

Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:08am

Fun little game. played it on my android np.
It was quite hard to get past the levels with 3+ spaceships though.

Drabiter says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:35am

Thanks for playing.

@AyCe: You can't shoot while pressing any button because I use switch() on key listener (you use java too so you know) :D

@BarrensZeppelin: Yeah, but I managed to pass it by fully upgraded acceleration and base speed :)

AyCe says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:34pm

I always use 2 boolean[], and when a key gets pressed, I use switch(keycode) in a function, which "converts" keycode to actual key index in the boolean[]'s. now i look if boolean[] no. 2 is true at that pos, if not, set both arrays to true on that index. in the key up, i again get the key index by the keycode and set both boolean[] at that index to false.

Why that? Well, if you want to use "hold", just look of boolean[] no. 1 is true at that index, if you want to use "click (and ignore if key stays pressed)" return the index of boolean[] no. 1 and set it to false.

Well just look at this: http://pastebin.com/raw.php?i=wf9A4jfe

Of course you are free to code as you want ^^

voidstar69 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:40pm

I played the Android version on my Galaxy S3. The blue gradient in the background does not fill the whole screen. The aliens only shoot if I touch within the blue gradient block.

The first few times I played I did not realize that I could make the invaders move faster by tilting the phone.

A great concept, inverting the roles of the space ship and aliens. Also quite difficult! :-)

Drabiter says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:40am

@AyCe: Yeah I already know about that. I did this to prevent more shoot spamming (intended). Thanks btw! :)

@voidstar69: Thanks for trying. Yeah sorry about that. Within limited time I couldn't set up scaling, so max supported resolution is 800x480 which is my own phone Desire V :)

fishbrain says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:16pm

Nice clean style.

Drabiter says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:27am

@fishbrain: thanks! yours is good too :)

Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:52am

Wow, I didn't expect that this particular take on an old classic would be so much fun, but it is! I sort of wish you had an occasional UFO helper fly by like in the original, but other than that it's solid!

Drabiter says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:04am

@recursive frog: thanks for playing! I will remember to add UFO on post-compo version.

dray says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:52am

Nice little game. On my xperia s it seems that the background is not lined up and i have white space on top and right.

Drabiter says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:20am

@dray: thanks for playing! yeah I made it fix on resolution. Xperia has about 850 x 480, 50px more than 800x480.

goerp says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:01pm

I like how the aliens open their mouth when dropping bombs. More people had the same idea, but I didn't so I think its a good idea.
The background was not right though and after destroying the hero, nothing happened. A bug maybe
?

Drabiter says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:26pm

@goerp: thanks for playing! it's not bug, I just forgot to add that win condition :)

Tommislav says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 8:21am

I thought it would be hard to make a game around that mechanic, but you did a great job. As someone mentioned before I had some trouble with the speed up/down controls, and had to wait until I reached the bottom before proceeding, but the general game is well executed and great potential with further polish! =D

Drabiter says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 8:42am

@Tommislav: Thanks for playing! yes Im planning for do the completed version, after new year maybe :)

Jeremias says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 2:37pm

Nice concept, but with some problems:

- If I hold the left arrow key to quicken the movement and then I reach the left border, I think it would be better, if it slows me down while keeping the left arrow key down, instead of resetting it.
- The enemie shots are too strong or too fast. Perhaps adding health to every alien? It is hard to have more than 1 or 2 aliens left.
- The game should change to the upgrade screen after I destroyed the last ship instead of waiting until I reached the bottom screen border.

Drabiter says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 11:40am

@Jeremlas: Thanks for the feedback! :D

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 3:58am

Hey, Drabiter, couldn't get this to work on my Mac. I'm saving it to play on my Windows machine before the end of voting!

Drabiter says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 2:42am

@azurenimbus: thanks!

RawBits says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 12:57pm

Hahaa! This is good! I love the angry faces it's a nice touch. Only 2 things: they should speed up when all the ships are gone and it's bad that the game quits when all aliens dead. Well I don't know if the latter is because of the Android structure - I just recently started learning it. :P

Anyway, love the idea, simple and clean implementation. Thanks!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]