December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

BUTCHER

by gnx - Jam Entry

BUTCHER is a an arcade game where you are the BUTCHER,
slash victims with your knives for points, but avoid the cops or your murdering days will be over!

Controls: arrow keys & spacebar.

In total I probably only worked on this game 8-9 hours due to a terribly busy weekend. I still wanted to get it "playable", and in that regard I consider it succesful :D

I would've had some rpg'ish ideas for this, but there simply wasn't any time implement anything apart from the basic gameplay.

Tools used:

ImpactJS
Paint.net
Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#41Theme(Jam)3.91
#68Fun(Jam)3.30
#97Mood(Jam)3.19
#110Audio(Jam)3.16
#121Overall(Jam)3.21
#159Innovation(Jam)2.91
#218Humor(Jam)2.20
#242Graphics(Jam)2.69

Comments

Joncom says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:40am

Nice work.

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:06am

I like the vision mechanic and the global idea.
The possibility to go outside should be avoided, it allowed to wait for people to spawn without being caught by the cops.

gnx says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:23am

@Coolapsydo

Thanks for catching that bug, fixed now :)

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:04pm

Hey this game seems oddly familiar ;)
Loving the retro style right down to the Atari-esque 'fail' jingle. Only thing maybe worth changing is making the people run a little slower when they're running away - since they run the same speed/faster than the player it's pretty much pointless to chase them, where as I think encouraging that final chase through the halls would be fun (maybe even make speed proportional to health?)

Oreganik says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:25pm

I like the vision mechanic, even if the villain moves a bit slowly, and the music was absolutely PERFECT. I also liked the fact there weren't one-hit kills: you sort of had to "buy-in" to the evil act. Overall, solid old-school feel.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:30pm

good job. good idea. good concept. i enjoyed playing.
i think that you should add restart option.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:41pm

The music set the mood really well, it's amazing how even simple music and graphics can create such a great atmosphere if done right. The whole thing felt incredibly sinister, the field of vision fed into that really well too, I felt like a genuine serial killer lurking in alleyways waiting to strike. I think you've got a lot right with this game, well done

Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:28am

Great concept. I think a darker enviroment will be better suited for the theme of this game. Also, good music and SFXs!
The villan is a little bit slow, but who care, I've got my saw!

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:05am

The audio adds a lot, quite unnerving. Controls are kind of sluggish, the victims seem to be casually walking even when a serial killer is chasing them.

Intoxicatious says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:45pm

I wish I had owned this for Atari when I was young. I laughed so hard when I first saw the blood. So rewarding.

8bitDamage says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:57pm

OMG the soundtrack makes me really uneasy! I love it!

BrothersT says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:00am

This is quality stuff. the difficulty progression feels nice. It's hard but not too hard if you know what you're doing. Pretty good graphics, great unnerving music. Really good overall.

Wuhao says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:10am

its fun, but how do you win? i butchered everyone including the cops

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:07pm

I found this actually really fun. Made me chuckle at the start too. The music really fit well.

Nice one.

dray says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:08pm

Fun little game,
maybe a bit hard for me

Floko says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:50am

I didn`t get to win,but this was very fun! appart from the graphics,this game feels very atari-like . And this is definitely a game i would buy for my atari. Nicely done =]

rujo says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:25am

i like the concept and the realization!
maybe a little difficult and graphics could be improved but for the time available its ok.

01101101 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:45pm

Very good indeed

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]