December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Susie's Xmas Hit List

by AdricZero - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Susie is the Villain. Susie is pissed Santa got her the wrong doll last year. So, this year she's going to take it out on Santa and his reindeer. Susie has a Snowball Bazooka, which is capability of shooting large snowballs high into the air. These are capable of breaking Santa's reindeer free from their magic (invisible) harness. One reindeer at-a-time, Susie is going to bring Santa down.

Santa isn't going to let down all the children just for one spoiled brat. Santa is willing (for the good of all children) to sacrifice some of his presents in an attempt to stop Susie from ruining Christmas.

Reality is also working against Susie, since she can only fire a Snowball if there is enough snow at her current spot. Each snowball will use the snow at that spot, and eventually Susie will be forced to move to another position if she wants to continue shooting snowballs.

Arrow keys move Susie left/right. SPACE shoots a snowball. Avoid falling reindeer and gifts.

Sadly, there is no sound.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#194Theme3.59
#214Humor2.98
#323Graphics3.04
#439Fun2.69
#471Mood2.60
#483Overall2.78
#502Innovation2.58
#588Audio1.31

Comments

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:16pm

Can't play windows games. :-(

AdricZero says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:25am

Rex: If you have Python installed and install Cocos2d, it should work from the source on Mac or Linux. I just don't know much about packaging binaries on those platforms. You can download Cocos2d from this location:
http://cocos2d.org/download.html

Twigasaurus says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:28pm

was pretty fun :) just got a bit boring after a while :) well done :D

Verrazano says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:34pm

The lack of music/sound effects is probably the biggest part you could have improved on. That and maybe the hit boxes (or maybe you just aren't supposed to hit the reindeer directly.) Other than that the graphical presentation was very well done, and you had a nice explanation screen at the begging.

JFlegle says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:20pm

Interesting idea, sometimes I would lose while Santa was still up high or killed.

goulding57 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:20pm

Would love to play this, looks really fun. However, I cannot play windows games. Good luck!

Manuel says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:18pm

Liked the snow resource mechanic, and the reindeers falling.

arhpositive says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:55pm

Nice use of the theme. :) You should upload a post-compo version including sound, imo. A nicely made-up christmas song would greatly improve the game. :)

goerp says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:18pm

Original modern take on space invaders. It could use some sound, that would make it more engaging.
It can be a hectic game, but sometimes if you get it right, you can shoot all the reindeer in one go!

Mista Koo says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 10:51am

I didn't understand the falling presents mechanics, what to do and how they end the game. Aside from that it's pretty good.

Dec 26, 2012 @ 2:33pm

Liked the game :) Small and nice. It might be missing some bonuses or upgrades, but other than that - had fun playing. Thanks!

ceronman says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 4:27pm

Nice concept! I love cute villains. I would loved more challenge and maybe some sound.

Bobrocket says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 4:28pm

very nice concept!

AdricZero says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 3:12am

Added Mac OS X version. I have never attempted to package a Python project as a Mac binary before, so interested if it works for anyone.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 1:11pm

Not the greatest shoot-m-up ever but the theme is right. Nice idea for sort of resource available based on position. Santa should have just pelted that brat with a ton of gifts to take her out.

dragonfi says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 2:25pm

Good idea that the falling reindeer can actually kill you. Also, I didn't notice at first, but the sowball-resource is a nice mechanic too. Althoug, some visual feedback on the ground would be nice.

Beerman says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 10:41pm

This really seems like the soundtrack should be Kevin Bloody Wilson's "Hey Santa Claus". Fun :D

Spelchan says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 5:37pm

Cute game but needs sounds. Even generated sound effects from a tool like sfxr would have helped a lot. The game play sort of reminded me of space invaders when you are down to a few aliens.

Joozey says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 8:19pm

The window is too big for my screen: 1280x800. Can't see the score as it is behind the task bar. There is no way to make it fullscreen, resize the window or drag it in a place so I can see the score. The presents delivered seem to randomly trigger a santa-has-won screen. Nice idea though.

jmaasing says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 8:36pm

Worked fine on my Mac :)

infernet89 says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 8:54pm

Good game!
I'm quite scared about the similarity between my game and yours..

TyrusPeace says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 12:27am

Dying via falling reindeer was pretty hilarious to me :P.

AdricZero says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 2:14pm

Joozey: The window size should be 1024x768 (or slightly larger for the window frame), so it should have fit. You should also be able to press Ctrl-F to toggle full screen. If the presents collide with Susie at the bottom than Santa has won. You should be avoiding Presents and Reindeer. If the gifts reach 0 then Santa wins too.

Aslai says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 3:37pm

It's a cute space invaders type of game with the twist of limited ammo. It was pretty fun for a few repetitions =p

Van Merwan says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 6:17pm

Arcade Santapede!
The idea of Santa moving backwards is funny.
I want to see reindeers moonwalking.

Retrac says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 3:57am

Nice take on being the villain and a well executed game. I would occasionally get stuck and then get smacked by a present but other than that it was solid. Well done and good luck!

GameRespect says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 4:46am

Aesthetics and gameplay are simple and fine, music and sound would have improved the experience. I love the plot though, and the fact that the reindeers can fly backwards. Awesome job.

h.attila says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 1:37pm

Fun little game.

MortalWombat says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 2:58pm

I didn't really understand the win/lose conditions. It said that I lost (children got their presents) whenever I shot all the reindeer...

DavidErosa says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Love the dying reindeers.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]