December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Tail Orbit

by bugninja - Jam Entry

You have 60 seconds to destroy as many peaceful orbs as you can.... since they are peaceful, that makes you the villain :)

Important note: You have to hit the orbs with your TAIL ... not your head to get points :)

Use arrow keys to move, Z slows down, X speeds back up.

You must hit the orbs with your TAIL and not your HEAD to score points. Your tail gets longer and harder to use the more orbs you hit with your head.

Have fun!!!

It was made with Monkey (http://www.monkeycoder.co.nz/), graphics made in Fireworks.

I can't enter the "compo" because some of the libraries I use are closed source, and I'm using a modified version of Mojo that ships with Monkey.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#86Innovation(Jam)3.26
#115Fun(Jam)3.06
#159Overall(Jam)3.03
#170Graphics(Jam)3.18
#247Mood(Jam)2.48
#264Audio(Jam)1.36
#293Humor(Jam)1.62
#317Theme(Jam)1.88

Comments

rumachine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:19am

Great game! I enjoyed playing it.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:48pm

cool game, different approach, enjoyed playing

Jlebow says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:07am

Fun game.

Luis Anton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:08am

Nice! It was difficult getting used to controls - so many keys for such a small game, and hitting orbs with your tail requieres a bit of training. Well done!

lucky.luddite says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:08am

Nice trail effect.

Logun says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:12am

It is hard to manage the tail properly. It is half cool, half frustrating. But cool concept !

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:13am

Cute game, interesting concept :)

Small suggestion about the controls. Why not make up/down work like z/x ?

Yacodo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:22am

Pretty tricky to play (at first I was like : Yeah try eat it... and then... I re-read the intro :))

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:26am

A beautiful game!

AhNinniah says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:36am

Great concept! Though not very convenient that the character can completely get off the game screen

Floko says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:55am

nice game! even tough the theme isn't that clear if I don't read the description . Hitting the orbs with the tail is pretty hard,but still an enjoyable experience =]

Rabbits... says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:55am

I liked the idea of having a tail that was out for revenge, good job on the game, the colors contrasted nicely...

GreenPixelDev says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:56am

Reminded me of Snake! Cool concept and very smooth controls :D

bugninja says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:14am

@GreenPixelDev I'm glad you said that. I was kind-of working from a reverse-snake angle.

bugninja says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:15am

@AhNinniah I actually have a version where you can't go off the screen. You actually don't go too far off the game screen, so if you turn slightly, you should see yourself re-appear.

cdata says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:21am

This game is pretty fun, and quite hard. I found it very difficult to recover after my tail gets a certain length.

zatyka says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:22am

Nice concept and well executed. Controls were solid. I do wish there were a bit more to the gameplay though.

RosyPenguin says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:24am

haha, I didn't read the instructions the first time through and ate every orb with my head. But the subsequent plays when I tried to eat the orbs with my tail it turned out a lot more difficult than it looks and I ended up having a lot of fun playing both ways!

Also, I am a fan of this clean, crisp aesthetic and soft colors. Great job!

raincole says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:26am

Interesting. The trailing effect is pretty.

Cthu says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:06pm

Love it! Although I like the "non growing tail" build better. Add some Osmos style music and it would be enough to publish.


@bugninja: question regarding your bug report on my game - can you share your setup info? Flash Player version, system and brief computer specs? I'd like to investigate. Thanks!

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:41pm

It's sort of like a reversed-omnidirectional snake game! Simple yet excellent art and challenging.

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:39pm

Beautiful.

bechsen says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 2:58pm

Great!

Ed Okonik says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 11:26pm

A nice game with interesting game play. Some atmospheric sound and music would make this really nice. Not sure about how well it fits the compo theme, but nice work anyway.

bugninja says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 10:02pm

Yeah, I don't think I'll get many votes based on theme because I didn't have time to get all the graphics done that would have made it make more sense that you were the bad guy. So I called them "peaceful" orbs. Sort-of a cop out, :D

xandrew says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 11:42pm

That was very cool! Although I found that having a longer tail was more easy ;)

Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Simple, fun, and looks great! An original take on the classic 'snake' game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]