Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Let them live

by MaTX - Jam Entry

The goal of the game is to let its characters live. Can you manage to do it?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#20Theme(Jam)4.07
#22Mood(Jam)3.78
#28Innovation(Jam)3.69
#71Audio(Jam)3.37
#101Overall(Jam)3.34
#113Graphics(Jam)3.50
#246Humor(Jam)2.05
#288Fun(Jam)2.17

Comments

mikemacdee says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:34am

unexpected twist on the theme. in that regard, nice job!

ArkadyDracul says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:28am

It's like "The Sims" but the evil dev way :D

ananasblau says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:10pm

Nice one, interesting twist. For a short moment during playing it was wondering: Why don't those people mirror in the water like the ship and the boxes?

bigbadwofl says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:14pm

Very well done. I love it.

Digiraze says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:43pm

Very stylish and artistic.

degtyarev says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:46pm

Conceptual)

lotusgame says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:53pm

Is it a game ? I'd rather consider it as a philosophical revelation of player being condition. I like it :)

raincole says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:11pm

The music is very touchy. I thought it's about extraordinary lives, but your idea is out of my expectation.

Cell says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:54pm

Loved it!

tumoxep says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:55pm

Wow! I get it. Fives in all fields.

BrothersT says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:59pm

Nice one. I didn't see the, "play the game twice before reading spoilers bit" but it's a good mechanism to stop people from trying to figure out how to win for too long. I was pixel hunting for a while :P

hadesfury says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:00pm

Nice idea. Very meta ! Of course, the limited interaction makes it really hard to do as they ask. I sincerely hope the player doesn't close the windows on US on December 21st ;)

Manest says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:01pm

Well... it's a no-game, but realisation is realy nice.
Love music and art.

emveyh says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:02pm

Wow, interesting. So the garbage collection is the villain?

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:04pm

Well, that was different! Nice!

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:08pm

The evil is inside you, and now you know it! :D
I love the concept of the game and the music is pleasantly melancholic.

mrspeaker says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:20pm

Very nice work. Maybe it'd be better if you had a "quit game" button inside the game, rather than the spoiler?

oldtopman says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:30pm

Flawless game. Gave me the chills after playing. 5/5

bechsen says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:11pm

Nice Twist man!

Pierrec says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:59pm

This is a very clever idea, but very hard to make it works. If you hadn't wrote "play the game twice" I wouldn't have and would have quit without understanding, but because you wrote it, I guess what would happened (and I was right).
This should be intensively frustrating!

A good way to make it works might have been to open a new browser window/tab when the game closes, but I'm not sure it's something possible.

Anyway, you got my deep respect sir!

(Oh yeah I forgot : best take on the theme I've seen so far)

Tavrox says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:32pm

Really interesting. The concept is really interesting but that looks like a lazy way to do that. I would have loved if you let that idea live in another way like creating a link between chars and the players or make them action that would adress direct to him.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:30pm

Really interesting take on the theme. I wonder if the characters could have talked a bit more, perhaps converse with the player more about themselves, so you could have grown attached to them and the twist would have been more painful. Anyway, great job!

Eniko says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:54am

Really cool twist and interpretation of the theme. I was wondering what you could've possibly done with it in 6 hours, but I was pleasantly surprised.

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:44pm

Nice interpretation of the theme :D

Izitmee says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:30pm

Uhm, I don't want to sound too harsh, but... With some irony and some levity this would've been a funny out-of-contest (since this is obviously not a game) divertissement. Instead it appears to take itself too seriously, thus ending in a bland and immature speed-take on a philosophical concept that has already been widely dealt with in every possible medium, games included.

atraxgames says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:43pm

Outside the box..

Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:57am

http://www.channelate.com/2012/02/13/lifes-a-dream/

Meta. Haha...

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:55am

Great concept. Like the art and audio a bunch. The twist rocks.

caribou says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:04am

While i agree with some of the rant of Izitmee i still think it's a really good idea and i actually had fun experiencing it. I share his thought about the game being a bit too serious that it feels uncomfortable reading the explanation.

ramoncb says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:23pm

was a very different experience =O
quite unique for me

you should invest in this concept with something more acceptable for the masses...
maybe an adventure or some kind of puzzle with some live being, like a procedural character

sorry my bad english xD

blob says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 10:30am

I agree with Pierrec that it would work better if another window opened when you close the game.

MaTX says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 4:35pm

If another windows opened, the program would react to your actions, while the player should be evil outside the program itself, by just closing the program, and not because the program said so.

In this sense, even the game over screen is a "failure", in a way.

Thanks for your comments :)

krutech says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 7:15pm

Good job. Many clicks!

Sestren says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 2:53am

I find the concept really fascinating. I wish the execution had been better, but overall, I like it. I must admit, without the explanation, I never would have got it.

Falkreon says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 11:14pm

This is really impressive. Really impressive. The atmosphere is intense. It's a vastly different approach to the theme than anything else I've seen. It's not just intensely meta, it's a feat of social engineering.

And then there's the fact that I left the game open on the second run, and it's still open as I write this. There's some lingering sentiment, perhaps, between wanting to keep the music playing, and hoping there's some way you can at least get a new group of people and keep them alive. People are not simple. Their motivations are not simple, and they are not, except in very limited ways, easy to predict. Yet you just got everyone here to miss three little pixel guys they just met. I think that's important in games - emotional connection. I don't get that from a lot of modern games, so thank you.

csanyk says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 2:25am

Novel idea, as an "art game" I can respect it, but not really much of a "game-game". It'd be interesting to see what you could do if you took more than 6 hours.

Cryovat says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 9:22pm

It took me a while to get it (a lot of frustrated random clicking and keyboard pressing), but once I came back a second time, the frustration turned into awe. Chilling piece of work (in a good way). Good job! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]