December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Call of Booty

by xandrew - Jam Entry

*** WE ENCOURAGE YOU TO PLAY THIS GAME WITH FRIENDS. ***
This is a multiplayer game, and while it works perfectly well with just one player it gets much more fun (and competitive!) with friends or other people.

*** ALTERNATIVELY You can open up another browser window and play with yourself! (No pun intended) ***


--------------------------
Intro
--------------------------
"Pillage that Village with Pirate Skillage"

You and your fellow scallywags have docked at Port Peace.
Use the arrow keys to chase down the villagers, and the 'Z' key to slice and plunder them for all their gold!
But you must hurry and return to your ship before it sets sail without you! Or risk losing all yer booty.


--------------------------
Controls
--------------------------
Move:
> Arrow keys
Sword:
> 'z' key

--------------------------
About The Game
--------------------------
This is a multiplayer based game. The servers can hold up to 5 people at once. I'm not based anywhere near America so if another server needs to go up in another part please leave a comment!

The goal is to plunder as many villagers and seamen and collect their coins. The ship is being bombarded by cannon fire so there is a time limit. Once the time limit is reached - if you aren't on the ship then you're left for dead!


--------------------------
The Team
--------------------------
Andrew Smith - Developer
http://andrew.kiwi.nz

Brendan McQueen- Sound Effects / Music (yes that's him screaming)
https://www.facebook.com/brendanmcqueensmusic

Michael Brooke - Concept / Level Design / Crate Drawer

Matt - Artist (Levels)

Callum Wright - Concept / Designer

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#163Audio(Jam)2.78
#250Humor(Jam)2.00
#254Theme(Jam)2.70
#258Innovation(Jam)2.41
#274Graphics(Jam)2.41
#275Overall(Jam)2.52
#289Fun(Jam)2.15
#298Mood(Jam)2.00

Comments

emveyh says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:12pm

Yay for the music :D Nice concept, gets a bit repetetive, though

Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:14pm

Interesting concept and nice programming! Sheep with human voices remind me of Catherine -- creepy.

Manest says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:18pm

I'm not sure to understand want to do. I move en town and can see some people but after that I'm blocked. Where to go and what to do?

oldtopman says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:21pm

Excellent game, and bonus points for making an online game within the time constraints! Note that even if you're on the ship, you still game over.

xandrew says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:58pm

@bitwise-constructs - Damn! They are meant to be sailors! (That's their sailor hats)

@Manest - Because you are an evil villain you enter the town and start pillaging/killing all the townfolk and sailors, who drop coins. Before your ship leaves (the time limit) you need to return to your ship - else all your work was for nothing!

@oldtopman - Technically when the time runs out the game is over ;) but yeah time constraints had us working on other things. You do however keep all your coins if you return to the ship!

Luis Anton says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:43am

What a weird game :D I'm not sure why it's online. I mean, do we work collaboratively to plunder the town? I should have a look at node.js someday.

xandrew says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:38am

@Luis Anton the (original) idea was to gather your pirates comrades and plunder the town together to get the most coins. Then you all had to make it back to the ship and get the highest coin count (if you don't make it then you lose your coins).

It's online because it's a multiplayer game! So gather your friends or another browser window!

(Node.js was absolutely incredible while making this. socket.io allows streaming data to and from server and client and made developing this a breeze (ish...).

boxerbomb says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:04pm

I like the game! no one else playing on the server though. What did you use for the server.

xandrew says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:16pm

@boxerbomb thanks! if no one is playing then get some friends to play with you! It seriously gets much more fun (that's why we had a blast making it!).

The entire application (client and server) was done in javascript - so node.js was the server. (I don't know if I could have done a multiplayer game in any other language as fast as I did with node).

Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:27pm

Good job making an online game

Komradus says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:37am

I noticed that (I think) you move faster diagonally then compared to 1 axis. Making the game online is a really nice touch.

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 10:33pm

Good idea making this multiplayer, but it didn't leave you time for the interesting stuff.

donmilham says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 5:22am

I Pillaged that Village with Pirate Skillage! I guess this game is multiplayer? Unfortunately, no one was on when I played. I thought it was funny when I found a white box labeled Spawner. Nice work on this one.

xandrew says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 11:15pm

This: http://i.imgur.com/HpoGu.png was the original level design. Our artist just drew over the initial concept and left in most of the outlines - which I think makes it looks cooler even though things like spawners are clearly visible ;)

xandrew says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 11:19pm

@pl0xz0rz - yeah because of the multiplayer (which was my goal for this game jam) we did miss out on putting in more interesting things (and more levels) but there's always more time after the judging!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]