December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Zombie Commander

by xBlinkedx - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Zombie Commander is a game that is sort of like Atom Zombie Smasher, but in reverse and with a bit of a twist.
It is in reverse because you are creating the zombies to try to infect the city, and the twist is that instead of avoiding military, you must dodge missiles from the sky!

I really wish I had more time to make a real instructions menu, but because I don't, this is it...

Instructions:
Select which type of zombie you wish to spawn.
-Standard Zombies cost 1ZP (ZedPoint)
-Fast Zombies cost 4ZP
-Explosive Zombies cost 2ZP
Once you have selected a zombie, you can then select a location to spawn them.
You command around zombies by right clicking anywhere, they will all head toward this point.
You can spawn any amount of zombies, so long as you have the ZP to support it.
You gain ZP and Points by infecting civilians.
Points are lost if either a zombie or civilian is killed by a missile.
Your goal is to try to gain the highest amount of points you can before evac arrives...
Good Luck!!!

-Made by Blinked (Gregg Seamon)

I'm currently working on a website to host all my downloads and a webplayer version of the game :D

Also, please let me know if the OS/X and Linux version work properly, I have no way of testing it :/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#161Innovation3.31
#218Theme3.54
#374Graphics2.92
#426Mood2.67
#515Audio1.85
#536Overall2.69
#653Fun2.15
#980Coolness30%

Comments

drakfyre says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:23am

Good entry!

Frib says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:54pm

you're arguably the good guys, as non-zombified humans dying gives you a score penalty, and enslaving them into the hive mind gives them a chance to survive :D

darkfire4219 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:29pm

I like it Blink

xBlinkedx says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:26am

@Frib Well, technically when they are infected they become undead, so they don't 'really' survive, and the civilain death penalty was originally a bug that became a feature xD

Codexus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:24am

This belongs in the jam category. As you used existing assets to build your game, you cannot submit to the compo category, sorry.

xBlinkedx says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:17am

@Codexus Damn, didn't realize that. I'm not sure how I would go about changing it to a Jam entry though.

psychopsam says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:11am

Nice lighting and good use of boxes considering time limit. Great idea, and I like the path finding, but it left me feeling a little bland. Probably really needed screams and actual zombies to enjoy it more. Needed waves as well to feel a sense of accomplishment. Nice work though.

ceronman says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:16am

Nice game. It was cool to move all those zombies around. It fits the theme very nicely.

ceronman says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:21am

Watching the timelapse, I can see you use a lot of pre-generated assets. You should put this into the jam category.

dekart says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:26am

Doesn't start on my OSX 10.6 for some reason

Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:47am

Plays very well, looks great. Unfortunately as others said you use pre-made assets so I cannot rate you as a compo entry. Very sorry. You should expand on this game though, with different levels and whatnot, it could become quite something.

Nick Cash says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:39am

Very nice! I definitely like the sort of "control the horde" concept.

csanyk says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 5:05pm

Couldn't play, due to a large chunk of the play area being obstructed by a large, blue rectangle.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]