Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:
Sat, 01 Nov 2014 00:12:00 UTC

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014
Sat, 06 Dec 2014 01:00:00 UTC

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.


Ludum Dare 31:

Ludum Deals

???

 

Recent:

MiniLD #XX


Ludum Dare 25

December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Space Lord - axcho - Jam Entry

Create enemy ships with the mouse. Try to keep things fun for the "player"!

View axcho's journal. | View all entries by axcho

Ratings

#11Audio(Jam)4.00
#18Theme(Jam)4.10
#21Innovation(Jam)3.85
#32Overall(Jam)3.75
#37Fun(Jam)3.55
#44Graphics(Jam)4.10
#49Mood(Jam)3.47
#164Humor(Jam)2.58
#1189Coolness0%

Comments

lando walters says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:49am

really great entry, easily the best one ive played so far :D
i was thinking of making a game like this, but this was way different than I would have done it. I think that I would have created a system where you earn money, to buy ships, but this system seems way faster paced. Awesome job :)

Toadpud says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:19am

Would definitely benefited from forcing the play to gather money and upgrades, etc. but overall very good.

Husky says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:52am

It's pretty fun!
It's so fun to stand at the invader's thinking and doing what they do.
Amazing game!

Andrey Pradun says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:49am

Very good game! It was interesting to play.

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:11am

Good job. The presentation is good and the gameplay is solid. However, it could do with a tutorial of sorts.

Dylan McCall says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:20am

I've always wondered where those ships were coming from! This is definitely one my favourite entries :D

I wish there was a way to slow down and think about each wave. Most of the time, I ended up just clicking as fast as I could without a whole lot of thought. Definitely lots of potential for neat stuff in here, and it's very satisfying either way. The Fun meter is perfect.

volando says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:51pm

Good one!!

jujule says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:18pm

Interface, graphics and sound are good and most importantly consistent. I like that the goal is to entertain the "player" rather than putting the emphasis on killing him. But as other said, I'd like a little more challenge. Overall a good entry.

Philip Wagner says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:19pm

Really liked it! Very nice graphics and cool sfx and music. Had fun clicking that much. Would be great to choose the ship types via keyboard.

And this would make a great little two player game.

lekochen says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:39am

Simple and solid.

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 6:27am

Great work! There should be an angry meter as well. I'd love to piss the computer off for once rather than always the other way around.

joekinley says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 1:08pm

Nice little game you made there. I liked the graphics a lot and the overall theme approach. The music was nice too. Though it got pretty boring really quick, i bet there is a lot of stuff you could do to improve that and make this a fully fledged awesome game.

Great job.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]