December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Sheepuree

by Shubi - Jam Entry

This is a game about herding sheep. I hope you will take care of all the sheep.

Instructions:
Use your mouse to herd the sheep towards the vacuum and cannon.
Hold down SPACE to charge up the cannon and let go to launch the sheep.
Try to hit the huge blender conveniently placed in the valley.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#77Graphics(Jam)3.79
#112Audio(Jam)3.15
#186Overall(Jam)2.93
#198Theme(Jam)3.08
#206Fun(Jam)2.62
#206Mood(Jam)2.67
#220Innovation(Jam)2.62
#1150Coolness10%

Comments

Verrazano says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:58am

I enjoyed the game once I understood how to play, but it was hard to understand the canon at first, because the instructions at the bottom say press space to operate canon the first few times I tried, I was like "aaaaarg why aren't teh sheep going in the blender." The graphics are pretty good, but I don't feel like the music fit, but I don't blame you music isn't my strong suit either - at least you had some. I really liked the idea of being like willy cayote - or an evil wolf eating up sheep with elaborate machines. Good job - overall.

Bloodyaugust says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:22am

Couldn't figure out the point.

Shubi says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:15pm

Verrazano: Thank you for the feedback. The game definitely needs some instructions, because the mechanics are quite bizarre. Audio is another aspect I should've spent more time on.

_Rilem says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:44pm

I like the graphics. The sheep are simple yet fun to look at :)
The controls could use some work, and the sheep escape the fence from time to time.
It's a shame there is a time limit, because I also liked just playing around with the sheep.

Shubi says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:50pm

_Rilem: Thank you for your kind words!

dvdking says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:24pm

I like the style of the graphics, it looks really good.
It would be nice if I had more time. At least it could be something like when you score a sheep you get more time or other bonuses.

Shubi says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:15am

dvdking: I agree, that would've been a good idea. I need to spend more time on polishing gameplay during the next LD.

michax says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 8:41am

Nice color scheme and music! Lovely minimalistic look. Gameplay wise it could be a little faster.

cardboard says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 6:59pm

I found the time limit rather annoying, but other than that the game was pretty awesome.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]