December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Dog Days Are Done

by evilseanbot - Jam Entry

Smoothest in Chrome; However, there's a glitch where the levels sometimes don't load. You can try moving around to an edge or possibly try in Firefox.

Click on the gameplay screen, then press any key to go through slideshow intro. Move around with arrow keys, other controls are displayed up top.

Programming by Sean Musgrave
Design by Sean and Chris Musgrave
Art by Chris Musgrave
Music by Chris Musgrave

Edit: the linked version, 1.1, was updated after the jam to fix the bug I was experiencing in Chrome (Per rules on post-jam modifications). If you experience more game-crashing bugs, let me know in the comments.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#67Innovation(Jam)3.39
#167Mood(Jam)2.81
#196Humor(Jam)2.37
#220Audio(Jam)2.25
#223Theme(Jam)2.95
#239Overall(Jam)2.71
#263Fun(Jam)2.31
#319Graphics(Jam)1.81

Comments

Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:18am

Yeah! That was very original.

But I had some bad issues, couldn't finish it. White screens flashing when it shouldn't be, my dog wouldn't stop running left too.

But I still get the feeling this game was well done. I could figure out immediately what I had to do: picking up stuff and then dig it. xD
The concept is really great.

I would really enjoy playing this again on a less bugged version.

evilseanbot says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:49am

That's too bad.

What browser were you using?

aare says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:03am

Not the best graphics out there, but definitely engaging gameplay. Keep it up!

evilseanbot says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:41am

Actually, the art was done by my brother, so I'm pretty sure they're "The best graphics" :) Unless you're talking about the yellow squares of doom. That was all me and highly questionable.

Swofl says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:56pm

I can't seem to get past the title screen. Tried pressing a bunch of different keys, but to not avail.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:39pm

Cool idea, but I encountered a game breaking bug that wouldn't let me continue. Once it reloaded, I couldn't walk up, but I could walk through the walls to my left and right.

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:37am

is the dog barking or whimpering?
and the cop just kept walking around after I hid the items, was he suppose to, or was there more?

mcc says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:51am

i really liked the sound effects! bonus points cause the dog is cute. i dug up the whole yard and couldn't find anything though.

raincole says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:44am

The sound is a little noisy... but gameplay is original.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:03am

Certainly an innovative concept. Unfortunately I had an issue with collision in the garage(?) where I as stuck in the top right corner in the table and couldn't do anything.

Radiatoryang says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:13am

kinda buggy and the bark sound is more funny than anything, but the concept was really strong and well-done

fishbrain says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:37am

Nice idea, cute graphics... I like being a dog. :)

01101101 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:20am

this dog looks like mine except the bark sound !
this is a pleasant game, thanks.

Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:17pm

Awww :( The poor dog knew too much! Creative use of the theme, and nice story, but the game could have been more challenging.

Mista Koo says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 10:36am

I like how the dog's head changes depending on vertical direction.

Dec 28, 2012 @ 12:04am

Interesting game.
I missed some of the dialog because it goes away when you press the arrow keys, so I played it twice. I thought the story was a bit strange, but it was cool how the game mechanic was so linked to it. Good job!

Zed says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 11:57am

Oh my GOD that's sad! It's also really clever and fantastic. Well done!

Jacic says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 12:27am

I almost cried. Nice game!

cardboard says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Very interesting and engaging.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]